help exchange   Host 55635
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April - Sept
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2 or 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55635
Region: New Brunswick

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 9, 2017

I'm a papa with a single hectare of land in a rural neighborhood in western New Brunswick that's part of a 130 acre community land trust. The inhabitants of this neighborhood share the common goal of sustainability in our visions, and are at different stages of independent homesteading and/or homebuilding projects.

Personally I've got a small two story wooden house that can host 3 bodies, and two camping platforms in the woods behind my building for 2 med sized tents. You will have access to an indoor & outdoor bathroom (there is no running water in house, beautiful stream behind house; drinking water from well nearby) and access to both kitchens (indoor & outdoor) between meals. I have my amazingly cute & articulate 3yr old half of each week, and a cute kitty full time. We're enthusiasticly living off grid with solar and a backup generator (which we try not to have on unless needed), thus we have limited power. I do practice beatbox and record in the house so i use the generator for this..

I'm seeking volunteers beginning in mid-spring till fall, with a commitment of 5 hrs per day, 5 days per week. Assisting me in soil building, plant collection, playing with my child, watering, planting, weeding and harvesting plants/herbs/trees, and more.. We are practicing Permaculture and Agroforestry through two simutaneous food forest programs on-site. Within the community there are worker bee days, potlucks and outtings that happen occassionally (and lots of kids to hang out with :) Helpers would need to provide their own tents (if outdoors) & bedding (out & indoors). I would provide 2 meals a day (with help cleaning), using an abundance of fresh local produce, 80% organic local grains & meats; we are omnivores), and a weekly trip into a local town (woodstock).

South Knowlesville is quite rural, despite being only about 30 minutes east of the Trans-Canada Hwy as it runs adjacent to the St.John River. A 20 min car ride north or south will bring you to nearest gas station/convenience store, through the villages of Glassville or Coldstream; and 10 minutes further will access you grocery/hardware/pharmacy/take-out and other such amenities: Florenceville or Hartland (or woodstock just another 10 from hartland). We are about 1.5 hour drive north of the capital, Fredericton.

Volunteers who arrive in May will have the pleasure of participating in our annual Kite Festival.

Those who arrive early June can participate in the permaculture festival: Praxis Project

Fall in New Brunswick is gorgeous, and if you happen to visit us late Sept / early Oct the annual Country Fair will coincide with your stay.

Thanks for considering!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use