help exchange   Host 55691
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55691
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 19, 2020

We live in a small cottage on the banks of the Clutha river 1.5km out of Roxburgh and over look the Clutha Gold cycle trail. We have a house cow which I milk daily and like to make yoghurt cheese and yoghurt and also our own butter when there is a surplus of cream. We have a lovely cottage garden and also like to grow our own vegetables and live out of our garden. In the summer time I like to make lots of relishes and chutneys as well as preserve fruit and make jam with all the beautiful fruit we grow here in the amazing Teviot Valley fruit bowl. We love knowing where are food comes from and just find it so satisfying to be able to grow and make so much of our food and we are also love to make our own homebrew beer and cider. We raise our own pork and I cure all our own bacon and smoke it traditionally in a smoker and have recently made our own sausages. We are a family of 3 with my partner working full time in the building industry and I work part time as a baker in a cafe and we have a 7 year old girl so we need our helpx to be child friendly please as a our 7year old does love our helpx helpers and will befriend you very quickly! We would love help with our garden and the very big vege garden which needs constant attention to allow us to keep on top of it so we would prefer it if this is your choice in helping us that you do have some garden experience as you will be working unsupervised and we need you to know the difference between weeds and plants please and that you dont mind getting your hands dirty. We also need help with housekeeping but nothing to strenuous .....just day to day stuff. We would be looking for someone from 20th January 2020 for childcare over school holidays so once again you must enjoy children and doing activities with them and playing. . We would be looking for 20 hours a week of your help in exchange for food, accommodation and internet. If any of this sounds like you then we would love to hear from you and be part of our family for your stay. We also have a chocolate labrador and a cat whom are best of friends and both very friendly so as well as being child friendly you also need to be pet friendly. We are busy family and I would prefer not to be cooking for vegetarians......we grow our own meat and love to share this with our is all part of making your stay memorable. Helpx has there own room which is a single room and internet access.
If this sounds like you then we would love to hear from you:-)

reviews (5)
Helper: Lian Song Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: September 8, 2018
The week I stayed with Colleen, Michael and Masy is such an awesome helpx tim... view complete review

Helper: Amy Brumley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 30, 2018
I stayed with Colleen, Michael, and Macy for a week and was made to feel righ... view complete review

Helper: Fangying Tu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: October 26, 2017
I originally planed to stay for a week only, but finally lived with them for ... view complete review

Helper: Nele Brandt Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: March 25, 2017
I had an amazing time at Michael and Colleen's house. They are very welcoming... view complete review

Helper: Pauline Preguiça Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 8, 2017
I've been in Colleen and Michael's place for a week, I was their first helper... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use