help exchange   Host 55728
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April-October
Area (ha): 1,7
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55728
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 12, 2018

We are Irja, Benjamin, our two kids (4 and 1 years old) and our plant nursery. We do permaculture growing of mainly perennial plants, nut and fruit trees, and vegetables to sell. We can use help for all kind of things: Building, digging, weeding, harvesting, sowing, planting, fencing, preservation of food, composting, clearing of forest, making plant beds, etc. Irja is educated organic farmer (at Sogn Jord og Hagebruksskule) from Vågå in east Norway and Benjamin is a danish permaculturist with years of experience in forest gardening, trees and perennial vegetables. We have been wwoofing many places ourselves, so we hope we have a good idea of how to make a good wwoofing stay. We would like you to learn something and to learn something from you.

We have 1,7 hectares land, where we are establishing - and harvesting from - forest garden systems - this is taking shape now and is already producing nuts, veggies and berries. We also work on smaller areas (garden size) with high production per m2 through polycultures.
At our place you are close to everything almost, 500 meters to sea, forests, mountains, 2,5 km to center of town, shop, library, Tingvoll Økopark / Eco Parc (national research facility for organic farming).
We have several good rooms available for wwoofers/helpers and two bathrooms, so we should have space enough for you.

Help from volunteers is useful all year round and we put breaks in between volunteer stays, so we can be more present hosts when we have you here. We are a little family with one 4-year-old and one little baby, so that's a huge part of our daily life, evenings and weekends. We can not host smokers because of the babies.
A lot of the work we do is physically hard, because we mainly use hand tools. A lot of the work in a plant nursery also requires a great deal of accuracy. If you tell us a bit about yourself in your request, we'll try to plan for some work that matches your interests and special skills. :)
We have only used HelpX for a short while, but we have hosted more than 70 volunteers via WWOOF Norway over the last 4 years, and we have got a lot of references here, although the webpage will only show references if you're a member of Wwoof Norway. Photos and information on our Wwoof profile is open for everyone to read though:

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use