help exchange   Host 56023
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Palencia
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56023
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 19, 2019

***SEPTEMBER 2020 and onwards***


Hello everyone!

My name is Rosana,
I had been travelling around during the last years doing a lot of Helpx myself around Central America, South America and Europe. Couchsurfing, camping, hitchhiking, long distance walking, roadtrip... I really enjoy this time of my life full of adventure and now I feel like doing something different and settled down (at least for some time ;) so I decide I am going to start studying.

I am 23 years old and I was born in Madrid, living there with my family until the age of 19, when I started to travel. During this years I was living in rural areas, some of them completely isolated like desert islands or indigenous communities and I discover how good I feel living in contact with nature. So I don't want to go back to Madrid busy city life and I decided to move to the village my mother was born in.

The village is called Monzón de Campos, it is a small village of around 700 inhabitants surround by fields and with a river crossing it with some human-planted forest. It is nice for walk or cycle around with some paths by the river, to other small villages, to the wind farm,
to the castle (it has views of the area from the top) or across the fields. There is also a library with free internet access, a small supermarket and a sport centre with swimming pool open during the summer months. It is 10 kilometers away from a medium size city called Palencia with all the facilities.
There is a bus leaving at 9 in front of the house and coming back from Palencia at 13 from Monday to Saturday (both days included), so it is easy if you want to explore the city. Also trains every day at various times.
If you are coming from Madrid or any other part of Spain there are buses and train coming to Palencia where I can pick you up the day of your arrival. Hitchhiking is always a possibility as well.

The house is 5 minutes walking from the centre village. It is a 3 floors building and I am living in the first one. As you can imagine it is very tranquil here and from the kitchen window we can see the mountain and the birds flying. From your room you can see an old sugar factory where my grandfather used to work (now it is falling down). It is an amazing sunset some days with different colours painting the mountains and the fields. You will have an independent room and we share toilet and kitchen. It is simple but comfortable. I don't have WiFi in the house.

The job will be to teach me something. I am looking forward to learn how to play musical instrument (special interest in percussion, indigenous instruments, guitar, but open to try any!) so if you play something and have the patience and passion of sharing it with me it will be amazing. I do have a acoustic guitar that was from my uncle here at home. Also I am willing to improve my English and learn French (if you speak other idiom that would like to share I am happy to listen your offer). Yoga, meditation, painting, massaging, crafts, vegan cuisine, homemade products... :)
In exchange I will provide basic VEGAN food/ VEGAN ingredients such as rice, legumes, quinoa, bread, vegetables, fruits which I try to get it as local and organic as I can. If you need something else (vegan or at least vegetarian, no meat at home) you can get in in Palencia/Monzón.
There is a small terrace where I would like to create a home garden to cultivate a few edible plants so if you are interested in helping with that, you are welcome!

I will go to study in Palencia, and normally I will be at home in the afternoon so we can share time together. Some days we can go to excursions to near places like Canal de Castilla, natural reserve of Valdellano or Natural Park of Fuentes Carrionas, for example. The Camino de Santiago pass by a few villages away from where I live, if you are interested we can pack a picnic one day and go to Frómista or other emblematic Camino stop and see the pilgrims passing (Frómista also has a very nice church to visit).

And if you have any questions, please send me a message. :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use