help exchange   Host 56027
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cambridge
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56027
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2020

Hello!

About this property and me.

My name is Bonnie Farrell. I have been on my property for 15 years and farmed it for 10. I own 40 acres with wonderful views and a couple of very small ponds. I am open to different kinds of help and levels of experience. I have a three bedroom, three-bathroom house. One spare room has a queen bed and the other has a full bed. So would allow two singles or two couples to stay at one time. Future help would be staying in the house with me and thus would be treated as part of the family. Hopefully that means you are comfortable here and it feels like home. It also means preparing some of the meals or helping out with general housekeeping, sweeping, dishes, etc. I ask for about 15 hours of work per person per week.

I would love to talk to you about how you might mesh here!

Priorities right now depending on your skill set are below.

----Now - Household help – Cleaning would be a priority with small projects like touch up painting and minor repairs to walls.

----April - Outside help – I had a 30’ X 96’ greenhouse collapse this winter. Around April, I will need someone to take that apart and stack the metal for removal. I also have a fence around my yard that needs to be removed.

----May - Vegetable and flower gardening - Prepping a new area for garden and then gardening both new and established garden areas.

----May – September – I have two tents on the property that I rent out via AirBnB and hipcamp. I would like to put up another. If I can find people to take care of them for me for at least a month at a time. I would do that. If you are interested in a longer term stay between a month and three months, let me know? It takes about an hour per tent to prep them for campers and I have campers each weekend night and maybe one night during the week. There is a week or two where they may be booked almost the whole week. On average for two tents, it is about 2 hours a day. So for the week it is between 4 and up to 15 hours. Ideally the person will also be able to garden and will fill time with gardening and lawn care on slow weeks since I ask for about 15 hours per week of work.

Here are the Airbnb website links, https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/19941978?s=67&shared_item_type=1&virality_entry_point=1&sharer_id=81249042 and https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/27024197?s=67&shared_item_type=1&virality_entry_point=1&sharer_id=81249042

----Anytime May – September – Lastly, I need my house painted on the outside. I do not need one person to do the whole thing. It is entirely white and I intend to keep it that way. If you are here for a week and can paint one side or some part of one side, that works for me. Some of the work requires a tall ladder since the house is a two story house. I have a ladder, you need to know you are comfortable on one.

About the area.

I am 30 minutes from Saratoga Springs, NY, known for its springs and baths as well as horse racing. Troy is about 40 minutes away, both have thriving farmer’s markets. I am also 20 minutes from Vermont and 45 minutes from Manchester, VT and less than an hour from the Adirondack Mountains in New York and Green mountains in Vermont. There are many local day hikes as well as lakes and rivers nearby. The Batten kill river has fishing, canoeing, kayaking, and tubing rentals. Lake George, a tourist town, and a very scenic lake is about an hour away. I am three hours from NYC. I am not near any public transportation so you would need your own.

I will allow pets and children, but they must be watched carefully as I have animals and dogs of my own.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Bonnie








reviews (2)
Helper: Orlandini and Anso Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 16, 2020
We stayed 10 days with Bonnie. We have amazing time with her. Her house is be... view complete review

Helper: Amanda Livelsberger Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 3, 2019
I had an awesome time at Runamuk Farm. I enjoyed spending time with and learn... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use