help exchange   Host 56061
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 425
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56061
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 7, 2019

My farm, located near Kaniva, is a commercial agricultural enterprise in the Wimmera region of western Victoria (midway between Melbourne and Adelaide). It has been owned by my family for more than 130 years. In 2006 I purchased the major portion of the productive land from the family Estate, and now annually crops nearly 425ha to spring wheat, barley, oats, field beans and canola. I am fully responsible for the management and on-going development of the farm, with a "share-farmer" undertaking many of the farm labour components.

I do not have enough work to keep you busy long-term, but I certainly have enough for 5-10 days. The deal I am offering is that you help me with general farm chores (e.g. burning up heaps of branches, some fencing repairs, cleaning up branches under trees, caring for my lawns and garden, cutting up firewood, planting farm trees, etc) and I provide free meals and accommodation and a modest weekly payment. Depending on the day/weather we would work for 4-5 hours each day. I may also be able to find some extra work with my neighbours.

I am 62 years old, single (but I do have a very friendly ginger cat!). I am now semi-retired, but for the past 25+ years (from 1986 onwards) I have worked overseas on various international agricultural and community development projects in East Asia (in China and Mongolia), the Middle East (in Turkey and Iraq), the Former Soviet Union (in Kazakhstan and central Asia), the Balkans/Eastern Europe (in Kosovo, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina), South Asia (in Afghanistan), and South-east Asia (in Indonesia).

Travel, food, wine and collecting art and antiques are my passion!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use