help exchange   Host 56209
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pontremoli
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56209
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2019

We are an English couple who have now relocated to Italy with a view to it being used as a home and a heritage project for antique organic fruit and vegetables varieties of Tuscany
We have started on a building project renovating an old tuscan stone farmhouse . We are trying to keep the house very rustic, authentic and restore it to it's older form so every thing will be natural and hand made. There will be an opportunity to work with Allesio our stonemason who is very cool and great fun Over the summer the main tasks will be looking after the vegetable garden and fruit orchards We are at the beginning of starting up a collection of antique fruit varieties of all sorts and hope to eventually use it for educational and leisure purposes to include processing storage and the preserving of Italian fruit and vegetables. We are very much into food and cooking !! If you can stay for at least two weeks that would be great and much longer if you can. There will likely be 3-4 helpers from around the world so lots of stories around the lunch table . This is a fantastic rustic area with wonderful culinary traditions and the locals are great I am sure you will love it.
We work for 5 hours per day in exchange for board and lodgings. All food is included We only cook and prepare vegan food
We have an existing cottage on the land which we renovated several years ago and is now our home You will have your own bedroom in a separate apartment with its own kitchen and bathroom During the week we all eat together lunch time We have wifi and a beautiful terrace with views of Apennine and Apuane mountains .
We prefer Helpx with some building/ land/gardening skills and who are happy to get involved in this type of work. Couples are very welcome as much help his needed in kitchen and garden.
We are only 30 minutes from the sea and 'Cinque Terra' and it is an hour from Pisa/Lucca and two hours from Florence .We love walking and would love to show you an undiscovered part of Italy famous for food and foraging and porcini mushrooms. Come and join us on our 'great escape' in an undiscovered part of Tuscany!! WE
are looking especially for helpers who want to stay for an extended period Minimum stay is normally around two weeks

reviews (10)
Helper: Karen and Alan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: February 16, 2019
We had the privilege of helping Jo and Chris for 2 weeks towards the end of ... view complete review

Helper: Pat Francis Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: October 13, 2018
I spent 6 weeks with Chris and Jo in their little slice of paradise and could... view complete review

Helper: Vladyslav Lukashchuk Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ukraine Date: September 23, 2018
It was my first experience on the helpx and I'm happy that I spent more tha... view complete review

Helper: Catalin and Adelina Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Romania Date: August 25, 2018
By far one of the most amazing experiences you can hope for in this system! C... view complete review

Helper: Seb Smith Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 7, 2018
Had a great time staying with Chris and Joanna. Their property is located in ... view complete review

Helper: Jimmy and Arnaud Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 2, 2018
We spent two weeks at Joanna&Chris' place. They both are really nice and welc... view complete review

Helper: Gene DeSimone Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 21, 2018
From late spring to early winter of 2017 I stayed with Chris and Joanna at th... view complete review

Helper: John and Linda Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: August 5, 2017
We spent about three enjoyable weeks with Chris and Jo on their property whic... view complete review

Helper: Sonya and Adam Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 12, 2017
Chris and Joanna are great they are very open and upfront about their expecta... view complete review

Helper: Steve and Jannie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 1, 2017
We have just returned from a week Helpxing at Chris and Joannes lovely home, ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use