help exchange   Host 56362
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Possible
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56362
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 15, 2017

We are large family split over three floors. Myself Jan, husband Tony, son Darren and my 95 year old mother all live on the upper 2 floors. On the lower ground floor is my daughter Sandra, her husband Jurgen and their 4 children. 3 girls ages 13, 15 and 18 and one 7 year old boy. Charley is a young 18 year old loving, moody, helpful, lazy, typical 18 year old. Chloe is 15 trying to learn the guitar, loves art and dogs. Philippa is 13 what can we say about Philly outgoing, loving, kind. The we come to Harley football mad, no sense of danger and loves his own way. Those of us who live upstairs speak English with the odd word of Spanish. The clever ones downstairs speak fluent English, Spanish and Dutch. We have 2 horses and 3 large dogs

Although some in the household smoke they don't generally smoke in the house.

Accommodation is a double bedroom with a double bed. Shared bathroom with one family member. A lounge should you wish a little peace and quiet. Breakfast and lunch is on a help yourself basis. The food is there for you. Drinks such as tea, coffee, water can be had at anytime just help yourself. A cooked meal is provided in the evening. You will be welcomed as a family member and are invited to sit with us for the TV, when Sandra is around she will invite you out to meet friends. Typically sausage and mash, casserole, burger and chips, roast chicken. Fresh fruit and vegetables always available. I do ask that you clean up after yourself especially in the kitchen. I can provide vegetarian but you will need to tell me what to do or provide

We have a small house which is let to friends of ours Rob and Lucy. Lucy is Chinese and does some mean Chinese meals. We also have a small house for holiday makers.
We have Wifi unlimited access
Our house is on a plot of 20000 sqr metres and grows mainly weeds. There is a garden area with pool, a football play area and a potential playground area. There are 2 plots for the horses, the resting area and a large launching area. We are on the edge of the Tabernas Desert with unbelievable views. We are about a 30 minute walk to the village where there is all the usual amenities.

We need someone help turn a storeroom into a bedsit with ensuite. Finish the short paddock. Quite a lot of heavy work involved.
We hope to start a playground project using old tyres so a few ideas and some ground work would be helpful. There are lots of jobs that need doing around the place that can be done if the weather is bad, for example we have tool sheds and junk sheds that need organizing. A utility room that needs a paint. Help with the garden (stone moving) perhaps build a feature wall. Ideally suited to people that can work on their own initiative. As long as the time is put in you can choose your own hours, but really need help at the weekend when our son is available to help.

If possible we would like someone from September onwards. A couple of weeks in July would be good as well.

Experience with horses useful but not essential. Driving licence useful

We live in a very beautiful but rugged part of Spain. This is the area that the old Westerns were made and more recently Exodus. Our volunteer will be able to walk along the dry riverbeds to Fort Bravo scene of many of the westerns. Many backpackers walk along these dry riverbeds so a great opportunity to meet new friends. Walk up the hills and enjoy the flora and fauna. This area is great for artists and nature lovers. Visit the old castle in Tabernas. The area is rich in history with many Moorish buildings still can be seen.

Jurgen has a car restoration business in the village and most of the family work there. If you visit him you will meet lots of locals and be introduced to them. If you want to brush up on English, Spanish or Dutch the opportunity is there for you.

Sandra and family will invite you to join her in the village to meet her Spanish friends of all ages. The children will speak English. Spanish or Dutch with you to help you learn a language if you like.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use