help exchange   Host 56384
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Loule
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56384
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2019

We are a retired couple living in a typical rural Algarve house, 4.7km from the town of Loule and 15min (by car) from the sea.

Pat (Irish) is a retired Limerick City fireman & Shannon River Marine Search & Rescue volunteer and Deborah (moi) American, is a retired entrepreneur, restaurateur, forest firefighter and Mountain Search & Rescue volunteer.

We are in need of of manual help during the year 2019. We prefer couples (but are open to single persons) to stay for minimum of 1 week and, if it feels right for ALL of us, for longer.

SOME of the time we'll work together on projects and sometimes not together depending on the day, work load etc. It's important for us that you understand gardening and how to use hand-tools as we are just too busy to teach and you must be able to work on your own sometimes.

We also have a small cottage business smoking Garlic and Mexican chilies and a pop-up BBQ 'supper-club' two evenings a month.

We have 1,800 english language books and lots of music from origional American blues 'n jazz, Irish traditional, Portuguese Fado, Opera, Classical. We love, LOVE cooking (and eating) and when the Weather is warm have a pop-up restuarant in our home; serving authentic Mexican, Soul Food from the South and American Cowboy food. Pat bakes Irish Soda bread and such things.

For the most part we eat what is in season and follow the UNESCO awarded Mediteranan Diet. (The Mediterranean diet involves a set of skills, knowledge, rituals, and traditions concerning crops, harvesting, fishing, animal husbandry, conservation, processing, cooking, and particularly the sharing and consumption of food. Eating together is the foundation of the cultural identity and continuity of communities throughout the Mediterranean basin. It is a moment of social exchange and communication, an affirmation and renewal of family, group or community identity.) We both read a lot, love music, hiking, a good conversation and embrace a merciless sense of humour.

We mostly need general physical labour on the land. (Our bodies are just too sore to do the work we need to do...ahhhh the Circle Of L
ife). We want to carve out of this stony Algarve soil some vegetable & flower gardens using creative water retention solutions and where we can native species.

Projects on the land, depending on the season, include: care and pruning of trees, harvesting (and preserving) Almonds, Figs and Olives, preserving, landscaping, weeding, planting, laying paths, irrigation system maintenance, creating and maintenance vegetable and flower gardens, chopping/sawing/stacking firewood, clearing land; pruning, transplanting trees & shrubs, mulching, organising compost piles, dig post holes & put up a fence, prune/harvest Olive & Almond, Figs, Carob trees, patch paint house, build a bocce court, help smoke chillies and garlic and solar harvested sea-salt smoked seasonings,
Projects on buildings include: painting, carpentry, repairs, house cleaning organizing etc. oh yes, and some help organize a logistics and fullfillment area for our Organic Smoked Garlic, Chili business and Supper-Club.

We are well located by car, (15 mins from beaches - 25 minutes from Faro airport) and close to trains and buses for trips further afield. On Saturdays we can drop you off in town or the beach, you can use UBER to take you anywhere.

Although we are in the country we are only 4.6km down the hill, from the town center. We also provide the odd lift into Loule and help with planning days off and suggestions for places to visit. We have two friendly Rhodisian Ridgeback dogs 'Betsy' Blueskies and 'Sierra Mariposa' AKA " Hoover" (yes as in the Hoover vacumn cleaner by the same name for obvious reasons) she's a teenager who loves to go on long walks in the surrounding country side. We will have a litter of puppies born around the first of June 2019.

We offer a privately located self-contained caravan nestled under an old fig tree. There is a double bed. It's a wee bit away from our cottage so you have your own space. We offer 3-meals a day for 5-hours a day work for 5-days per week 09h00-12h00 & 14h00-16h00 (Monday-Friday) (OR so.... nothing too exact we're human after all). Weekends you're off-work to go explore the area and on weekends you cover your own own meals. We provide local foods for your own breakfast, lunch & supper. Most lunches on work days (& some suppers just depends) we will eat together. Pat goes hiking with a group on Sundays so bring boots if you'd like to join him on this.

We have 2 dogs and 2 cats. WiFi is an option in the caravan at your own cost, we have a pay-as-you-go 'dongle' that you can top up and use.

IMPORTANT: We require that you (1) bring proof of your own health insurance and (2) give us a contact number of your next relatives in case of any emergencies plus (3) a copy of your photo ID, Passport.

Helpers must have a deep an unabiding GSOH (Good Sense Of Humour) as we do!

reviews (1)
Helper: Artūrs and Kristīne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Latvia Date: October 9, 2017
We stayed with Deborah and Pat for ten amazing days. They really love life an... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use