help exchange   Host 56533
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ponte Vedra Beach
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 56533
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2019

St. Augustind is the oldest city in the US. Rich in history, culture, arts, music. It is the city of lights with lovely palm trees and warm oceans.


Hello.
I am an Environmental Scientist ..former College Professor and World Traveler. I worked in the USA and Europe.
I enjoy people and like to give others the opportunity to also travel and experience other places and cultures.
I live in a condo in St Augustine Florida. Love the ocean and nature.

You will have your own bedroom and nice big bathroom., wifi and tv. The beach is across the street from the condo and the tennis court outside the door. Wildlife preserve in the backyard and walking trails everywhere. Bicycle is provided and some occasional transportation. I also provide a small stipend if you have great experience in house remodeling/carpenter skills.

I have a small bird. I live in a smoke free condo... no smoking inside or out.
I provide room and board. food...three meals a day. Toast or bagels or muffin for breakfast, tea and coffee and filtered water, one cooked meal and sandwiches and fruit.
No alcohol..no tobacco or smoking of any type.
I do not provide halal or special dietary requirements such as glutenfree or strictly organic...you eat what I eat and provide to you or you are responsible for purchasing your own.

****I am interested in tradespeople, craftsman, artist, computer savy people:

****I am looking for all kind of crafts/trade people, people with specific skill sets:
excellent carpenter skills such as mitering difficult corners on moulding and frame build-ins such as bookshelves or corner benches.
Workers can work on drywall.
.Workers can lay tiles or woodfloors.
All around good DIY people with minor electric/plumbing skills..no major electric/plumbing.
Also accomplished painters to do inside paintings.

Always welcome accomplished artists that can paint murals or tromp l'oeil.

Also sewing drapes or upholstery..painting skills and also general housework in combination with others if needed.
I am interested in:

Painting:
Painting skills to paint walls and trim.
Artists that can paint murals..trompe l'oeil or teach me watercolor etc.
Remodeling skills like Carpentry or tile working skills are always needed and welcome.
Computer skills: I have excellent computer skills..but if you are a professional IT person or I would be interested in people with excellent computerskills and Internet savy...can do research, have some photography skills and good English language skills to describe articles researched.
NO applicants for yardwork or garden outdoor work ...or babysitting or petcare or organic living of the land type volunteers needed.

So if you have any of the above skills and are interested please contact me.

I live in a smoke free environment... have severe health issues with smoke. Our whole complex is a designated smoke free zone.
We do not accept smokers.
You will have your own bedroom and bathroom and eat with us.
We provide food but if you have special requirements it is your own responsibility but we can provide transportation for you to shop for this.
Thank you for your interest and ..I look forward meeting you!


Type of help: 5 hours a day for 5 days a week with 2 days off. Please be flexible with work and off days since they can vary.

Building
General Maintenance
Other
Help in the house
Art project
Help with Computers

We live in St Augustine....the oldest city in the US. Rich in culture... arts... history... music... wildlife..... parks.. museums.
I live on an island across from the ocean..next to a Nature Preserve.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat like atmosphere.. this can be perfect for you. If you are looking for excitement St. Augustine is across the bridge.. about 5 miles from my place. It is an amazing city day or night.
I have bicycles and I can provide occasional transportation.


*If you are interested in staying with us please contact us for more information.

* We have traveled the world, worked all our lives with universities, the US government and NATO.
We taught Environmental, Biological and Physical Science at colleges and also worked for the government in overseas location.
We sponsored Allied students and foreign exchange students. We had wonderful experiences and welcome hosting volunteers now

*This is not a party place, here its quiet time, since we live in a condo. You may stay out late but we are up at 0700 and so are you.

*We are easy-going and will do our best to be great hosts if you will do your best to be a great volunteer.

*We are skilled ..well rounded DIY people..in most areas so you can learn a Lot here with us = we are willing to teach you and believe that
Anything you can do, you can improve upon and we can do it better together.

*We require that our cultural guest volunteers maintain themselves in all ways, financially, and to respect our home family rules.

* No vulgarity,
* No alcohol,
* No smoking,
* No loud anything.
* No special dietary requirements offered.

This is vital - No Smokers either - the smell of the clothes, hair, luggage, all gives smokers away & is offensive to non smokers.

NO SMOKING - NO SMOKERS
- they try to smoke outside the house - no no no no no . We do not accept smokers.

* IMPORTANT
*We require a copy of a photo ID such as passport, divers license, also a copy of the ticket showing name and flight information both. We gladly send more information on request.

*We have had some of the most wonderful experiences meeting previous volunteers. This has made our lives happier and richer in experience.


Languages spoken - English, German, French.


*What else ? How long you help with our projects here really depends on you - some of our volunteers have done it all in a few hours while others have taken a few days to just do the same things. We can discuss this once you are here.
* We expect some few hours of work in the morning and the day for a total of 5 hours for 5 days a week and the rest of the time is yours, we have no objections to how late you stay out, if you stay out, all night is fine but morning comes early and no one sleeps in here.

* Of course, days off as you wish. We request that you arrange days off with us in advance. Just so we know how to schedule things.

*Willingness to teach us fo things better and also learn a new way to do things using products perhaps new to you. We have a lifetime of experience from living around the world and hosting exchange students and volunteers for decades and from around the globe, looking for help for my condo located across a private Beach. Wanted skilled carpenters to help build bookshelves..woodfloors.
Or skilled tile layers to set tile floor and kitchenbacksplash .

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use