help exchange   Host 56555
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 7 ha
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56555
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2018

Looking for an enriching experience on a Farm in Italy?
My name is Barbara and I am 60 years of age. I own an organic lavender and soon also medicinal herbs farm.
This year the space in our home is more limited then last year and I can only host a skilled couple to help in maintenance and farm work mainly in the fields, ASAP from beginning/mid of march onwards.

We grow our own vegetables and pick the edible herbs that grow on the property.
Biodiversity is a must here and we also harvest seeds for exchange.
We live with two big, lovely black dogs, Tara and Taboo, two cats and eight chickens. We breed an ancient chicken breed feeding with hemp seed and natural feedstuff and we need help to enlarge the chicken coop.
We have 8 bee hives and are planning to produce lavender honey soon.
We can only host a couple, comfortably in our town flat just 15" walking distance away.
There is a lot of things that can be done and we are always open to new and innovative ideas, to make our farm a better place to visit.
Among requested skills, we'd love to host a good DIY chicken coop "engineer" as soon as possible!
Along with my family, I eat simple natural food, some of it is grown by us.
We are not vegetarians so, if you are, please let us know beforehand as well as if you are allergic to anything.
We love to hear other people's stories and cultures and we only host helpers with references, travel insurance, photograph, clean, tidy, enthusiastic and polite who are prepared to work Monday to Saturday for about 5 hours. On Sundays everybody, including us, will be off duty.
In the summer, due to the heat during lavender harvest we work very early in the morning and then we rest or have fun.
We are and like open minded people and polite smokers. We provide limited quantities of wine and we do not provide hard liquors and Sunday food.
We do not accept extra animals.
We are about to harvest our lavender and we need help ASAP.
Ciao for now! Barbara

reviews (2)
Helper: Emma Birtwistle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: February 21, 2018
There is no other way to describe my stay at the Poggio other than amazing, B... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Gigi and Tom Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: November 5, 2017
We stayed with Lorenzo & Barbara in September this year and had a really posi... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use