help exchange   Host 57334
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Frontera de El Hierro
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 or family
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57334
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 30, 2019

Description
===========
We are a family of six, two parents and four children (born between 2006 and 2012) with a big ecologic permaculture garden, many fruit trees, some animals, a big climbing frame with swings and a trapeze, and a lot of ideas to improve our infrastructure.

At the moment we live in a wooden house with two storeys made of Euro pallets. Our plan is to have some stone houses (made of natural volcanic stones) for us and some wooden houses for our guests.

IMPORTANT: We know, we live in a magical place. But you should also know, that we live quite rustic. And we want to improve, that means, we need people that are interested in really helping, in hard work, not ONLY play with the children.

Type of help
============
Gardening
Building
Babysitting / child care
General Maintenance
Cooking / shopping
Animal care
Language practice
Teaching

Help
====
PLEASE TELL US IN YOUR REQUEST: do you have experience in building and construction (WOODWORKER, CARPENTER, MASON, BRICK LAYER, PLUMBER, ELECTRICIAN), gardening (GRAFTING) or household aid, kitchen aid.

We want to build more places for visitors to stay (small houses or huts made of natural volcanic stones or recycled wood). That means also build the roof and the interior (some furniture, doors, windows).

Then we also need help in the household, that is cleaning the dishes, hang out the washing to dry, buy some stuff, carry waste to the waste container, bring new gas bottles, …

And we would like to have some trainer, teacher or artist for our children. Our children do like a lot to do artistic gymnastics (on the floor, parkour) and aerobatics (trapeze, aerial silk), and they want to get better, but need a teacher/trainer for that. But you can of course also teach them any language, physics, mathematics, or any cultural knowledge, especially any kind of art or music.

You can also help in our big garden, planting more trees, caring and harvesting our vegetables and fruits. And helping to make our gardening more efficient.

Cultural exchange and learning opportunities
============================================
You will learn how to live self-sufficient with minimum resources, how to grow food, how to repair stuff (electronics and computers), and you will enjoy the very natural island of El Hierro, which is like being sent back in time 50 years (compared to the rest of Europe).

You will learn how we manage living in a big family with four children that are taught at home (homeschooled).

You will have the time to walk or cycle through the wonderful landscape of this young and active volcanic island, visit caves (many long and adventurous lava tubes), swim, dive (there are a lot of animals in the sea around El Hierro —they like it quiet!) and fly (paragliding) if you want.

You can learn how to build and manage a photovoltaic system, which is our way to generate electric energy for cooking, baking and washing.

Languages spoken
================
Spanish (Canario), German, English, French

Accommodation
=============
You will sleep in a wooden tent or in the guest house made of Euro palets (which is cute but simple). If you like, you could also sleep under the open sky, which is recommendable if you like viewing the stars and planets and the milky way. We have very few rain on El Hierro (which is a pity for our garden). You can also come with caravan.

At the moment we have one composting toilet, a second one would be nice.

The shower for our helpers is open air (in a hidden place).

The way to our houses from the street is 300 meters

We produce our own electricity with our solar powered mini photovoltaic power plant.

What else …
===========
We have a bicycle that you can use. We have no car. Hitchhiking on El Hierro is very easy. Sometimes we rent a car for a few days, which we can share.

You may use our landline telephone to call your family and friends at home.

We have the fastest internet connection in Europe, 300 Mbit/s up- and download (symmetric!).

Hours expected
==============
Maximum 4–5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use