help exchange   Host 5738
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


La Vall de Laguar
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1, 2 or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 5738
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 8, 2019

We are a large British family living in a breathtaking spot in the mountains of Spain with views out over the Mediterranean towards Ibiza (we are situated midway between Valencia and Alicante). We live in a wooden solar and wind-powered house.

Phil and Jo (a teacher and musician) are in their early 50s and have 5 children between the ages of 13 and 23 (the oldest three now live or study in England). We speak English at home, but all of us speak good Spanish and the 'parents' speak French, German and Russian as well.

We have an organic smallholding (horses, goats, donkey, chickens, ducks, rabbits, fruit trees and vegetables).

We are looking for individuals or couples to stay for free in return for help around the house, with the animals and vegetable garden. There will also be some building and gardening projects. We expect 5 hours honest work a day in return for full board and accommodation, but are flexible as to how and when that work is done.

The accommodation is in a caravan near to the house, with access to bathroom facilities in the house. There is also a wooden cabin - the accommodation available will depend on the number of volunteers and other visitors. You need to be flexible (there is an option to camp in our cherry orchard in the summer if you prefer), but we will always make sure that you are comfortable.

We currently use caravan-style portable toilets and/or basic composting toilets - so if you cannot live without a flushing toilet, this is not the place for you!

We are happy for you to concentrate on inside tasks (cooking for our household, in particular) or outdoor tasks (looking after animals and gardening jobs) or a mixture of both. If you have any special skills or passions, please share them with us. After welcoming volunteers for more than three years, we are experienced in finding suitable jobs and ways of volunteering with all who come to us.

We can offer a wireless internet connection.

We can also offer language tuition (in English, Spanish, French, German or Russian), music therapy and massage, meditation and breathwork, either ourselves or as part of the wider community of which we are part.

Both parents are now out at work during the week, and the children (after many years of home education) are all at school. So volunteers will need to be happy to enjoy the beautiful space alone during weekdays, helping in particular by feeding the animals in the late afternoon and preparing evening meals.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use