help exchange   Host 57480
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brookfield, Vermont
All Year: Summer
Area (ha): 83 Acres (33 Hectares)
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57480
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2020

We are in the process of developing our dream off grid homestead on 83 acres in beautiful central Vermont.

We are looking for one or two people to lend us a hand this summer (2017). Your primary responsibility will be helping Colin to help cut the timber frame for our straw bale home but you may also be invited to participate in any or all of the following:
-gardening
-taking care of livestock (pigs, chickens, turkeys)
-food preservation
-meal prep
-cutting and splitting firewood
-using small farm equipment
-trail building and maintenance


A little bit about us:
We are a married couple in our 30's with a one year old. We spent the better part of our 20's traveling around the country and have decided to settle close to our roots in beautiful Brookfield, Vermont. We moved on to this property with Heidi's mother, Colleen, 2 years ago. We've been busy cultivating the land and laying the groundwork for or own dream home. We're in the process of constructing a small, off grid, timber frame, straw bale house.
We are passionate about homesteading, sustainable living, community building, and being good stewards of the land. Prior to this venture, we developed our passions for this lifestyle while living on a converted school bus on various farms and homesteads around the country.

Who we're looking for:
We're hoping to find a person, or a couple, interested in green building and homesteading. Colin will need a lot of help with the actual joinery of the timber frame, so somebody interested in learning these specific skills is encouraged to apply. No experience necessary but comfort with power tools and the ability to work with your hands is a must.


Accommodations will be in our cozy converted school bus that we lived in comfortably for 4 happy years. It is a fully functional tiny home with a kitchen, sitting area, full size bed and bathroom. You will also have use of an outdoor shower.

We are offering accommodation, homestead goods and one meal per day in exchange for 20 hours of work per week. There may be opportunity for paid work beyond the 20 hours.

Well behaved pets welcome with approval.


Please feel free to contact us with any questions!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use