help exchange   Host 57882
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 (double bed)
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57882
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 17, 2020

Please note we are booked from 25th February until 3rd March, 10th March until 17th March and 28 May until 7th June so we are unable to take volunteers in these periods.

** Must be smoke and drug free. No pet allergies as we have a cat. No vegans please, but we can cater for vegetarians **

We, Anita (39) and Sue (70) are a dynamic mother/daughter team on a 1/5 acre property in Manukau City. We have a large organic vegetable and flower garden. The garden was featured in the April 2017 issue of the New Zealand Gardener Magazine, our country's leading gardening publication. A link to a full-text version of the article can be found here: http://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/home-property/nz-gardener/90470219/food-forest-a-productive-vege-patch-fills-an-auckland-suburban-section

We are new to HelpX but have been hosting Wwoofers to help us around the home and garden since January 2017. If you are also on Wwoof, please view our profile page to see our feedback. We like having foreigners stay with us as we enjoy the cultural exchange element. The learning process is reciprocal and during your time here, we hope to get to know you better and learn more about your home country.

Please do take the time to READ all the information in our profile carefully beforehand. If you wish to stay at Anita's Garden, it is helpful if you could please a) take the time to complete your profile so we can learn more about you and b) tell us a bit about yourself, your background, details of any previous HelpX and/or other experience and why you would like to stay with us. Personalised messages with details about yourself and the reasons why you have chosen to request a stay with us always impress a potential host more than a bulk, impersonal message! Good volunteers are ones who are positive, open-minded, hard-working and flexible.

Sue is a retired nurse (midwife and dialysis) and Anita is a corporate lawyer who was practised law with large commercial firms in Auckland, London and Paris.

We are both educated, well-travelled and have lived and worked in other countries. We are flexible and open-minded people. Anita can speak French fluently, having studied the language at school and university, and lived in France for four years.

We are very close to all amenities. We are a 15 minute walk from Manukau City mall and Manukau bus/train station. We are conveniently located a 15 minute drive from Auckland International/Domestic Airport.

We live in a 3 bedroom brick home. We have a lovely tortoiseshell cat called Ginger. Sorry, but we cannot accommodate volunteers with cat/animal allergies! As we live in the city, we are on town water supply and for electricity, we are connected to the national grid.

We can accommodate 1 or 2 volunteers (pairs or couples) but they must be happy staying together in the guest room, which has one large double bed. We are a SMOKE-FREE environment. Sorry, no smokers. We are also a drug-free environment. Volunteers receive lodging, free wifi (please be sensible with usage as we have only limited data) and 3 meals per day plus snacks and hot beverages.

We are both diabetic and follow a sugar-free, low carb, low fat diet. We eat red meat occasionally. We do not eat pork. We can accommodate vegetarians and may be able to cater for some food intolerances but not vegans please.

Volunteers must each help us for 5 hours per day, around the home and garden. Most of the work is carried out in the morning, prior to lunch. We ask for a MINIMUM stay of ONE WEEK but welcome extended stays depending on synergy with volunteers, their skill sets and the amount of work available around the home and garden. Normally, volunteers are given one day off per week.

We look forward to hearing from you if you feel that you would be a good fit here.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use