help exchange   Host 57883
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mcbride
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1136
Persons: 2 to 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57883
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 1, 2017

Time to live and authentic Ranching Dream
Join our family on beautiful McBride, BC
Rocky Mountains

Do you love waking up in the middle of the night and early in the morning for a refreshing walk in clean mountain air while dodging cow patties, because your in luck! Calving season has arrived ! It as much of a ranching good time as you'll ever have in your life! From making sure the mommas are feeding calves to helping with

Now a little about us!

My name is Leah and my husband is John, and we would like to invite you to join our family of 5!

I'll start off with a bit about myself: I spend a lot of time with the ponies, we raise and train Shetland Ponies to drive. The Shetlands have been in my family my entire life! They are neat little ponies, the ones that are too young to start training, we are going to try and do some trick training with them! Next summer should be exciting! The winter with the ponies has pretty slow, just feeding and herd checks.

I also have Boston Terriers and French Bulldogs and we breed a few litters a year. Our dogs are part of the family we recently added three Irish Wolfhound puppies to the family, so if you come to the ranch, liking dogs is a must! I'll apologize now, the dogs have a little trouble understanding personal space, but they are very friendly.

My husband, John, works not only on the ranch, but he is also a manager for the highways. He sets up road maintenance and makes sure the crews get out to plow the roads in the winter, organizes road maintenance in the summer. He is the hardest working person you'll ever meet I guarantee it!

We have 3 of our 5 kids still at home:
Cole is 18 and graduated high school in the fall of 2016 and has attended his first year of University. After a lot of thought he has decided to return to the ranch and a way of life he feels connected too, ranching is a very special way of living and he wants to peruse it at this time. Cole also loves music, he is usually up for jamming around the campfire in the evenings and is an awesome tour guide to the local sites, he gives music lessons in the loft of our barn =D (Guitar,Bass and Drums) he's also the coolest type 1 Diabetic you'll ever meet!

Wyatt is 16 and in grade 11. He loves computers and has even started a YouTube channel! He has a unique way of explain what its likes like to grow up on a ranch, its extreemly funny. Wyatt is also currently rebuilding a 1986 Ford truck and he's very good at mechanics. He fixes everything from tractors to dirt bikes here. He also likes snowboarding, longboarding, and riding quads and dirt bikes.

Tyler is 13 and in grade 8. He is currently working with his dad fixing and old Willy's Jeep. He also likes computer games and he's basically Wyatt's shadow (he is not always appreciated for doin this).

I've decided it would be wrong if I didn't add British Ben to our listed family members, he is here on a work visa and is returning for a second season starting in April after reaching snow boarding all winter. He stared out not having any ranch experience by the end of the summer he could train a pony to drive, ride a horse, drive a tractor, service a tractor and fix most of the equipment! If you want to learn the opportunity is here! He also plays music, sings and loves riding horses. I'm very positive Ben is family ??

Two of our kids are in Alberta:
Jessica and Alyssa are 16 and living in Edmonton, Alberta with their mom. They are occasionally here during school holidays.

We are a typical ranching family and we want you to experience what ranch life is all about. By that, I mean we do work. This isn't a vacation ranch. We work together to complete projects, our animals' welfare and safety comes first. If a cow or calf needs care, or if the animals need to be fed, we take care of them before ourselves. We are people who love what we do and where we live. We have a true love and passion for our lifestyle.
However? how we are not typical, we love making redicilous ranch videos. So if your up for some fun, being part of a family and learning ranch life! This is the place for you !

We live on a 460 acre ranch near McBride, British Colombia, and enjoy a beautiful mountain setting. We raise our animals ethically and organically we do not use chemicals in our fields.

Our ponies are driven, we do have a lot of youngsters who just need brushing and more hands on interaction. My oldest has returned from University he is starting the spring pony program! Yee Haw!!!!! they need to get used to people and we encourage our new family (you) to spend time learning this new skill

What could be better than sitting in the Foal Field looking at the mountains waiting for a curious foal to get brave enough to sniff your arm? once that happens within a few days, you end up with a new best friend!

Depending on when you come, we could be doing anything from calving (season starts in March) to haying and harvest starting in mid July. Fall 2016 has been spent making a fence to keep the elk out of our hay.

Looking for people interested in ranching life and learning about animals. You don't need to have experience, just a willingness to learn and try. I'll take enthusiasm and a willingness to learn, it an experience we want you to have when you join our ranch family! People who are willing to help with general maintenance (no special skills are required) are most welcome! If you have carpentry skills, they would be put to good use!

You MUST have a competent understanding of the English language. Due to the farming/ranching environment, we need to make sure you understand what we are asking of you with your daily tasks. We welcome people wanting to improve their English, but please have a understanding of the English language. On a ranch, sometimes things need to be quickly explained, and knowing English becomes a safety issue.

If you already know how to ride (had formal lessons or grew up riding) we have a couple young, but trained, horses that need more time on them. If you commit to a longer stay (2 months or more), I'd love to work with you and teach you about driving and riding if you don't have experience. It takes a lot of time to teach a person to ride, and to be safe.

If you have old back or other injuries that bother you, this is probably not the place for you. Everything from working with the ponies to helping with farm work involves a level of physical health. You don't need to be an athlete, you don't have to be crazy fit, you just need to be healthy and uninjured. It also helps if you are silly. ... just saying ??

Wanting to learn about horses, ponies, and cows is a bonus for us. The dogs are a large part of ranch life, they aren't working dogs more fun, but they are dearly loved ? Also, being willing to just do odd jobs around the farm is also appreciated.

If you have allergies to animals or nature, this is NOT the place for you. We are a NON DRINKING and NON SMOKING environment. We are only 5 minutes from the town of McBride, and we can host up to 3 people, but it might be easier to schedule if they come as one from each location because we are finding people's time overlaps. Plus, you will also get the chance to meet people from other countries!

We have tons of wildlife in our area; elk, deer, moose, and if you're lucky, you might even get to see the coyotes or black bear!

We have added to our truck insurance so volunteers can drive our vehicles, so there is potential that you could use a truck to occasionally explore the area on your own. We can potentially supply a vehicle, but not supplying fuel for trips. Longer term volunteers only.

We ARE NOT accepting any couples, we find people traveling together have been in the past hard to separate for tasks. So if you're travelling together... you'll need to sell me on it... we have decided no couples in relationships.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use