help exchange   Host 58006
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Newkirk
All Year: Spring and summer only
Area (ha): 1860 (753)
Persons: 1-2
Category: Other
Host ID: 58006
Region: Southwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 22, 2018

Small ranch, grass-fed beef cattle. Laying hens also, a couple horses; dogs and cats live here too. Small-scale water-wise garden in summer. Remote area, but there is a lake 20 miles away (not many amenities at the lake except fishing and swimming, but very relaxing nonetheless).

We own a small family ranch in semi-arid eastern New Mexico and rarely manage any vacations or travel. We enjoy travelers and sharing conversations, meals, and chores. For about four hours a day as a work exchange, we'd enjoy travelers from anywhere who know at least rudimentary English. My husband also speaks fluent Spanish.

The work isn't particularly demanding, just chores like feeding critters, yard work, watering, etc. Where you see a need or have a talent, you can feel free to offer more specialized help.

We do have plenty of space for walking, nature- and scenic-photography, and plenty of off-time for reading or writing. We have Wifi at the house and outside the other buildings. It can be spotty within some buildings. You would be offered accommodation either in an addition off of our workshop, which is a comfortable room with a kitchenette, desktop computer with Internet, small TV with 12 channels, and a small bathroom (shower included), or (if we don't have other guests), in our bunkhouse, which is larger, has a 12-channel TV, full kitchen and a bathroom with laundry facilities.

You'd be welcome to share meals with us in the house, but if you'd prefer preparing your own snacks or meals, the addition and the bunkhouse are stocked with food. We eat rather simple basic foods, but we enjoy our own home-grown beef, eggs, and in summer, a bit of garden produce.

We think that, in terms of stay length, a few days up to maybe a 2-week stay would work best for both us and most visitors around here.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use