help exchange   Host 58097
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Alzira (Valencia)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 to 5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58097
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 8, 2020

We are a family of four (with two girls, aged 9 and 3) and live in a big country house in the middle of an orange orchard in a beautiful valley close to the sea. Six years ago we moved from the city to the countryside, just 5 km away from the village where my family has been growing oranges for almost a century. We grow different varieties of oranges and tangerines (harvesting from October to May) and are in the process of converting the orchard into organic agriculture. We are also planning to open a guesthouse or hostel in the hopefully not too far future. There is also a big hall with inspiring views of the mountain range and where we hope that interesting gatherings will soon take place (music, seminars,… any ideas are welcome) and a very big kitchen which is ideal for sharing cooking experiences.
We welcome any help in the orange orchard, as well as in the kitchen garden (where we grow veggies, fruits and herbs), chicken coop, pine forest and also in and around the house (general maintenance, like painting, gardening, some plumbing, etc). We have many projects and ideas but regrettably not much time to make them come true, so we could really do with some help (and would also be delighted to learn about new ideas or different ways of doing what we plan to do).
We are quite flexible as regards the help expected from the helpers. We would, however, prefer that most of the help is made available during the weekends, since during the week we may be quite busy and may only be spending limited time with helpers (early in the morning and after 18:00 hours). If helpers would like to visit the region, we would prefer them to do so during the week (and we would be available to drive them to or from Valencia provided that this is planned ahead).
At home, and mainly because of the girls, we speak English and German but will be more than happy to speak in Spanish (our mother tongue) with the helpers if they so prefer.
We can offer private room(s) with private bathroom(s). At home we are “almost” vegetarian (we may eat fish twice a week and meat once every week or every two weeks). During the week we would only offer cooked dinners, but helpers are free to use the kitchen (and the available food in the pantry) for preparing lunch. We can also (and usually do) prepare meals ahead for lunch during the week. This will depend on how many helpers are staying with us at the same time.
The closest (small) town with a basic shop is 4 km away. Two bigger towns with supermarkets most services are some 10/12 km away. The beach is 13 km away. Valencia is 50 km away (about 50 minutes by car or one hour by train). Bicycles are available.
Internet is available.
We love music and playing instruments (so far violin, piano and a bit of guitar) so musicians are most welcome.
We would prefer helpers to be non-smokers. Families with kids would also be very welcome.
We have three adopted cats and two visiting wild cats (none of them comes into the house).
We would prefer stays of at least two weeks but would be open to other arrangements. We are also open to long terms stays.
This is a quiet and peaceful place, surrounded by orchards, nature and mountains where we like to go walking and cycling. The house is by the Route of the Monasteries of Valencia (GR-236 long distance trail, which links various monasteries, some of them founded in the XIII century. The valley is called “Aigües Vives” which translates as “Living Waters”. So we like to think that if the monks chose this area to found a monastery several centuries ago we cannot be wrong when having decided to move to this place!
If you are interested in spending some time with us, please let us know your background and motivation.
We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use