help exchange   Host 58181
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 58181
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2019

We live on a beautiful sunny property in the Dandenong Ranges, one hour East of Melbourne city centre.

The house is very close to public transport. The bus stop is less than 50 metres walk from our house.

We are a short distance to: Yarra Valley wineries, Dandenong Ranges National Parks, cafes, galleries, artisan bakeries, beaches , ski resorts (3+ hours), country, museums, hiking and mountain biking trails (on our doorstep), public gardens.

There is also a brilliant yoga studio at the bottom of our street which has several classes a week.

We love to have Helpers stay from all cultures and help us maintain and beautify our house and garden.
We speak French at home to our daughter sometimes and encourage fellow French speakers.
We have a dog who is friendly. Helpers who love animals are encouraged.

We enjoy sometimes getting time to show our guests around the local areas or taking them collecting pure spring water at nearby Mount Donna Buang.

Each Helper works for at least 4 hours per day for accommodation and food.
We cook most of the time for everyone but we expect the Helpers to also share the cooking responsibilities a couple of times a week.
We are very busy so we look favorably upon Helpers who can pitch in and help whenever it's needed, not just during their work hours.

Each week totals 28 hours of work for each Helper. We are happy for you to work more on some days so you can take days off.

With a young child we discourage use of laptops, mobile phones etc in living areas while she is still awake (phones at the dinner table are a big NO, NO in our house)... we don't have a television and spend our evenings talking, drawing, reading (beside the fire) and sleeping.

We are currently seeking people with these specific skills:
- carpentry/building
- stone mason
- arborist
- experienced gardener, landscaper, horticulturalist
- skilled house painter

We will also consider Helpers with the following experience:
- painting/handyman
- gardening (especially organic horticulture and permaculture)
- cooking
- French speaking
- great with kids
- house cleaning
- good labourers/workers

Helpers will sometimes be left to work by themselves as we don't always have time to supervise them. Therefore, Helpers who can follow instructions and work unsupervised are essential.

We encourage people who are participants - people who are willing to be part of family life.

We look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use