help exchange   Host 58250
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bisbee
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58250
Region: Southwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 11, 2019

Need help with BBQ vending stand involving cooking and customer service. Looks like we are about to move our BBQ stand on the army base! so we definitely need more help. also help with the start-up of highly nutritious plant protein infused raw meat dog food, also in the process of starting a non-profit dog rehabilitation center near Bisbee, Arizona, USA


My Story:

I've temporarily moved from my mountain and huskies in Washington to take over my departed mothers ranch near Bisbee Arizona. The ranch I grew up on. My goal is to build the facilities and animal health to make an highly nutritious plant protein infused raw meat dog food and to supply smoked meats for locals. I have spent 12 years smoking meats in a personal business I once owned. And have bred, raised and trained huskies for close to 20 years. Stumbling on a the plant infused protein supplement and seeing amazing results have driven me to pursue the goal of better nutrition for all dogs. I have spent most of my life in the restaurant business, have lived in New York city for 7 years. My Arizona family is 5 dogs (Squeek, Queene, Emily, Badger, Pip), about300 pigs, 100 Rabbits, 80 chickens, 2 horses (Chance is a paint, Heather is an Arabian dapple grey) 2 turkeys and the family continues to grow. We have now started designing new culinary creations such as caramelized crispy pork belly sandwiches.


What sort of help?
I require 5 days a week and 4-6 hours per day usually broken up throughout the day.

Volunteers would help feed the animals (rabbits, chickens, pigs, horses) twice a day about 5 days a week. (Also I'm pretty flexible with this. As long as you can help with some of the feedings throughout the week!) One would be mixing the food in a concrete mixer and moving heavy buckets. This is where I need the most help and I can! We can go though the process together you until you feel comfortable enough to do it on your own. ((Disclaimer: This is physically demanding work! We can talk more about it over the phone to make sure you are strong/in shape enough. You are still very welcome to help with other parts of the ranch if you feel like it would be too much.)) Mixing and feeding takes about 2hrs per session. Cleaning the pens could be part of the exchange if you are comfortable with it. There is trash, and farm junk that could be cleaned and organized as well as pruning of trees/pathways! There are opportunities to help build a solar water heater for a hot tub ,expanding the chicken run, working on the big rabbit cage, maybe nursing baby pigs and expanding rabbit pen. Also I am always open to ideas.


Accommodation:

There is a hot tub! Stay in a 50x10 ft mobile home, in rough shape, fairly clean, recent renovation. (Be sure to ask or find photos of the accommodation just to make sure you would feel comfortable enough.) With running water, bathroom, full kitchen, bedroom, wood stove heater. I ran my own smoked meat business for many years and soon I will be able to provide as much smoked pork as you want. Also have several juice machines and grow wheat grass and sprouts so nutrition is a big part of the focus of this ranch. Let me know and I'll buy you any food you would like!


How could you benefit?:

You could gain value from the hard work of raising animals. (Disclaimer: This is hard work!) It could lead to a greater appreciation for animals and what it's like to care for them. I do have a horse and could teach you to ride. The pigs are very loving and will connect with you. This is an opportunity to spend time interacting and building relationships with animals to develop a greater empathy.

I can teach you what I know about juicing which has been a big part of my life the last 20 years of paying attention to nutrition. I can also teach you a bit about butchering, smoking meats, horseback riding, gardening, cultivation of fodders, the procedure of growing wheatgrass and sprouts.


Extra information about the area:

Bisbee (Named one of America's best small towns by USA Today) is a 20 min drive west. It is a really unique place that almost feels more European than American at times. And some call it Maybarry on acid. To the East 20 min is Douglas which is a run down border city with the closest Walmart. When it gets hot or you feel like some snow and forest the Chiricahua mountains are a 40 drive min away. The biggest sky island in Arizona. If you are curious about Mexico, the border crossing is 15 min away for Agua Prieta a town of 80,000. I'm pretty busy and you could ride with me to Bisbee or other places when I pick up feed! Otherwise if you want to get around more it is strongly recommended you have transport!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use