help exchange   Host 58275
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58275
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2018

We live in a house truck, and share our land with friendly milking sheep, a house cow and calf, a goat, pet pigs in the orchard, ducks, rooster, a retired hen, a dog and a cat. So our place would suit people who love animals.
Accomodation is basic with the choice of either a Bedford house bus or a 10m2 sleep-out or a house truck. We have a composting toilet system, an outdoor shower that works some of the time and a fire heated outdoor bath. It's a bit rough here, so would suit someone happy with an outdoor camping lifestyle.
There is Wifi, electricity and town supply water (we prefer the rain water for drinking). We are a few km from the beach, the river and a few km from the main highway (SH1). Shops are within walking distance (about 10min). You can borrow a bicycle if you would like to explore Otaki or follow the river cycle path to the beach. Wellington city is about 1hrs drive away.
Work is mostly outdoors. There are gumboots, overalls and a raincoat you can borrow. Some of the current work options include gardening, weeding, milking the cow, digging up thistles, picking up sheep poo for the garden, a bit of cleaning, carding wool, minor building/repair/maintenance projects.
We expect around 4 hours work for food and accommodation. Cooking facilities are basic, often it is help yourself or we can share making the meals and eat together.
It is best to come to our place when the weather is nice, so we can have bonfires and shared meals outside.
I do a lot of crafts using the wool from my sheep, so if you are interested I can teach you felting, how to make soap, butter, simple cheese, home-brew alcohol. If you would like to learn about any of these things let me know and I'll try to fit in showing you during your stay. We would prefer to have people that can stay more than a week.
It's quite messy and disorganised here but we love it :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use