help exchange   Host 58277
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Westbank
All Year: Flexible,part or all year
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58277
Region: BC, South Central

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 4, 2019

Hello, we are a heritage family farm with just the three of us (father, mother and son) working to handle the property, we grow fruits, veggies, nuts and also have various permaculture projects occurring yearly. We invest our time in permaculture, new energy, philosophy, invention, martial arts, life study and secondary farm products (making juices etc), and have a long-standing tradition of growing naturally and sustainably. We have found it difficult to keep things organized with only our own hands, so we are looking for people who are willing to help in exchange for lodging.

The exchange would be as follows: We have camping spaces as well as a living suite for 1-3 people. We work 7 days a week, but would only ask for help about 5-6 days a week, for aprox. 3-6 hours a day on a sliding scale, depending on the arrangement we agree on. Cooked Meals would NOT be included at this time, but we have cooking facilities and any seasonal farm produce is shared, including stored fruit (10 months of the year). We are happy to provide rides for pickup of volunteers and to drive to stores throughout the week, as well as welcome any volunteers to join us for community and family events, classes, dinners and outings.

The work would be of a variety of jobs each day, from weeding, to washing bottles, to picking and weighing fruit, to assisting visitors to the farm. Some jobs are with a group and some are solitary, so partner travelers are recommended if you need company to work. We are seeking people who are quiet, thoughtful, intersted in learning and dedicated, organized people. We have a firm policy of no drugs whatsoever, and no alcohol and no smoking on the property. We are willing to share any produce that is available fresh from the farm. We are located in a beautiful area, with lake views, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, a large fire pit and earth oven for baking, a large library, internet access and located about 5 min drive from shops, and 20 min drive to almost anything (theatre, beaches, malls, cafes, hiking, water sports etc.) We are about a 60 min drive to the ski hill. We usually have a farm truck available for use to drive to the beach and local stores if volunteers have a license. Each of us has a host of knowledge in various fields which we are happy to teach, from orchard growing, pruning and planting, to canning, drying and preserving food, as well as martial arts and philosophical knowledge to share. We are at the crossroads of the highways to/from Vancouver, Calgary and the U.S. and have many travelers from those areas, and its easy to travel to and from those cities from our farm.

We would like to host people for a minimum of 2+ weeks, up to 4+ months or more per year.

Please contact us with any questions. Thank you!

reviews (3)
Helper: Mohammad Habibollahi Najafabadi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Iran Date: December 9, 2018
A wonderful place to spend time be part of Farrell family to gain energy, dif... view complete review

Helper: Cyril L Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 1, 2018
I had two great weeks at the farm, the area is beautiful. The family is very ... view complete review

Helper: Cornelius Witte Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 21, 2017
I spent one month at this wonderful place in a beautiful cabin and had many u... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use