help exchange   Host 58437
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 58437
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2020

I am building a space of community, learning and nourishment. The land is dedicated as a place for people to come to learn and grow and develop important life skills. Skills such as Permaculture. Earth building. Feldenkrais body work. Qigong energy work. Hunting. Foraging. Growing food. Meditation. Fermentation. Wild foods. Movement and play. Medicinal plants. Eating weeds.

The next step in this vision is to finish building the main dwelling (a strawbale house). So far the house has a roof, ceilings, some lights and electricity, windows/doors, 1 coat of earth plaster, a fireplace, hot water and a little kitchen. There is a composting bucket toilet system for now. I would like some help with many different tasks in building but mostly I need help getting some more layers of earth plaster on the building. The clay for this comes from the build site. Local, natural materials.

I would like to work with people who are really interested in learning about earthbuilding and have a passion for this type of stuff. I would like to hang out with and meet some cool people and get some good work done on this house too. I intend for it to be finished by this summer! There's a lot of work to do!

A little about the land:
I have a strong permaculture passion and have been developing a food forest here. There are 2 other buildings on the property. A tiny house and a strawbale cottage. There are 2 other's who live in these buildings. The land is set in a national park. There are lots of tree's, birds and insects around. It is very alive!

I live upstairs in the main dwelling and my 5 year old daughter comes to stay with me a couple of nights a week. If you come and stay you will also be staying in the main dwelling with me. I have a couple of single beds for helpers.

I am omnivorous. I try to eat as local and fresh as possible. There is some food growing on the land but we're heading into winter so growth is slowing down. I'm about to get some chickens so there should be a source of fresh eggs each day. I eat fairly simple food and I rarely eat sugar. I also like to eat weeds which I'm happy to teach you about if you're interested in. Also there is a lot of citrus fruit ripening at the moment. Lemons, limes, oranges, mandarins.

If timing works out I may also need some help with prepping the food forest for spring planting.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use