help exchange   Host 58722
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oxford
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58722
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 2, 2020

We need helpers from end of July and the months of August,September and October to help with our calves mainly feeding looking after them.I hope we get some nice people in an any of those months to come and help us for a few hours a day we sure need it.Our first calves have arrived and need feeding. John and I live in a small country village in the foothills of Oxford 45 minutes drive from Christchurch city. After having 4 children of our own we shifted south to be near our 4 grandchildren.
The scenery is spectacular as from our lounge window we have snow-capped mountains and cattle grazing on the lower hills. Our small farm is 6km from Oxford town with all amenities, library, supermarket, gym and pubs.
This is a interesting business rearing 250 beef calves on milk powder hay and meal.We mix the powder to make up warm milk which we feed the baby calves every day. The calves are collected every day from a dairy farm close by, we rear them until they reach 100kg then they go to a new farm. We keep 40 to be kept on our farm
It is expected that you will help to feeding, mixing milk powder ,weigh and generally
help look after the calves. Other jobs may include weeding or general farm work. On average we would require you to work 3 to 4hrs per day with board and lodgings provided.
Oxford is an area vibrant with outdoor activities like bush walking, mountain biking, horse trekking, salmon fishing, jet boating and hunting.
It would be advisable to have your own transport but not essential Mobile
phone reception is very good and we have WiFi .
Our household is alive with 3 cats, Gingey, Sophie and Sam Kerie the Labrador pup and Hugo a white woolly retriever.
Photo 1. left to right.Looking down our race towards calf sheds with yearling bulls .
Photo 2. Bedroom for helpers
Photos of baby calves in photo 5. View from letterbox to snow capped mountains.Photo of our 3 ewes and 2 lambs. Photo of Hugo and Kerie.

reviews (3)
Helper: Audrey Sauteur Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 12, 2020
We spend 2 weeks in John and Mary’s lovely farm. It was a very great and inte... view complete review

Helper: Alex and Alex Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 8, 2018
If you're looking for a piece of paradise with lovely people and adorable ani... view complete review

Helper: Martin Dewaste Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 27, 2018
A family far from mine I planned to stay a week at John and Mary but I final... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use