help exchange   Host 58746
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: Up to 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58746
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 14, 2019

We are a farmer family, we are working on the production and direct sale of fruits and vegetables. We live together on the farm inside a Alsatian village close to Strasbourg. In the past, I worked as scientist during some years in universities and industries and decided some time ago to take over the small farm of my parents (they are retired but still help a lot). My partner Caroline is also helping, however she works part time somewhere else and is also taking care of our one year old daughter Mathilde. Caroline and Mathilde are away 3 days per week. We produce fruits and vegetables and sell them directly at home and on markets close to Strasbourg. Our biggest productions are strawberry, apples, potatoes, tomato, salad but we are producing a lot of other kind of vegetables in our fields and greenhouses. More about the farm: it is not an organic farm but we use pesticides as little as possible. We use black plastic cover to avoid weed growing and weeding is mostly done mechanically. The volunteer will not work with pesticides.

The farm is located about 10 km away for Strasbourg which can easily be reached by bicycle (1h), train (10min), bus (1h) or car (15min). The cultural and leisure activities offered by the city of Strasbourg and its region are very interesting and allow for discovering and learning more about Europe. In addition, besides it natural beauty, the Rhine valley mixes the cultures of three countries: France, Germany and Switzerland.

The Alsatian region is neither typically french nor typically german. Since my family has lived here for several generations, you will have the opportunity to gain insights in this particular culture (language, food, history, traditions).
When volunteers come here in order to improve their knowledge of french language, we do our best to speak french with them.
In addition, as written above, the volunteer will mainly learn how to take care of vegetables.

The volunteers are asked to help 3 full days per week, commonly Monday, Tuesday and Thursday in exchange of accommodation and meals. Weekends are always free.

We are looking forward hosting volunteer from all over the world, please contact us if you are interested!


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use