help exchange   Host 58789
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Vaughn
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.2
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58789
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 9, 2019

Small farm (MOSTLY ORGANIC PRACTICES but not seeking certification) with goats and alpacas. 8 of the 14 animals living here are adopted/rescued. The rest were born here. Acreage still needs improving after 15 years of steady work. Rural area in the Pacific Northwest about 20 mins drive to Gig Harbor. Culturally diverse community with artists, musicians and writers. Host couple are a Scottish immigrant woman with an American husband. Looking for 1 or a couple at a time who can join in with the daily round of an active couple in their early 60s. You wouldn't be asked to do anything we don't do/haven't done ourselves. Tasks we do include: mucking, foot trimming, noxious plant pulling, ditching and drainage, splitting and stacking firewood, clearing deadfall and general "tidying up". You can learn about land management, animal care and fiber arts. We generally are out and about 4 to 5 hours per day 5 days per week or some combination that adds up to same. We are interested in lots of things and looking forward to learning from our visitors as well as teaching. Bedroom with queen bed in our home and food for 3 meals per day. Some combination of meals prepared for you and meals you fix yourself. Wireless internet available. Some use of a car could perhaps be arranged. **Due to our own dogs' preferences we are not able to accommodate anyone traveling with a pet or service animal.** It would be fine with us but not fine with them.

reviews (5)
Helper: Cassandra and Loren Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 1, 2018
The place is so very nice and peaceful. The animals are all wonderful. We had... view complete review

Helper: Cassandra and Loren Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 1, 2018
Our stay was better than ever imagined. We were VERY comfortable; the setting... view complete review

Helper: Tara Austin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: March 22, 2018
I had a wonderful stay with Maureen and Jim, and would definitely love to go ... view complete review

Helper: M.A. Lensink Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: March 20, 2018
Two months after returning home I can safely say I still miss my days at Maur... view complete review

Helper: Cormac and Lara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: November 5, 2017
Myself and Lara thoroughly enjoyed our time staying with Maureen and Jim. The... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use