help exchange   Host 58842
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Halifax
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5 Acres
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58842
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 30, 2020

Beautiful views and a lovely rural setting close to an alternative town with plenty going on (Hebden Bridge) nestled between Manchester and Leeds in the South Pennines. We are also on a bus route and near a train station.

I would love people to help me with my smallholding and meadows. I have two cows to graze the land and a flock of chickens.

There are meadows with a stream running through. The plan is to develop the meadows for wild flowers, generate woodland along the stream and create a pond area to increase biodiversity. There is also a growing veg plot and newly planted orchard.

I am not registered organic but have an organic sensibility. I follow a basic permaculture principle and am focused on resource management.

I need help with whatever I am doing. I'm usually outside (whatever the weather), removing problem plants, generally weeding, planting, painting, building dry stone walls, making paths, moving stones or working on out-buildings. If the weather is very poor we may be carrying out internal renovations/building work.

In the main we will be working together on various tasks. If you have a particular skill please let me know as I would love to put your skills to best use.

This is a farm where I keep animals and they have to be cleaned out daily. This is a vital resource as a natural fertiliser. If you aren't prepared for shit then farm work may not be for you.
It can be muddy so you must have suitable footwear, wellingtons or waterproof boots. I may have something to fit you but I may not.
You will also need to be sure-footed and physically capable. You don't have to be an athlete but you do have to be prepared for physical outdoor life.

It's a non-smoking house and I eat a vegetarian diet.
You will have a nice bedroom with lovely views and your own bathroom.

There is good mobile phone reception and wifi.

I spent many years working all aspects of juggling and run Circus Skills workshops as well as my other work, I'd be happy to teach you to juggle or other circus skills.

I am interested in nature, especially plants and fungi and do a lot of local conservation work and lead nature walks.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use