help exchange   Host 58915
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Malin (Bistrita-Nasaud)
All Year: From April to November
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58915
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 25, 2019

* Languages spoken in the farm: French (native), English, some Romanian

* Description of the area:

Isolated farm in Transylvania, in a valley surrounded by woods (the wood is nearby – 50 meters – with a nice waterfall at wet season), streams and pasture. The closest village is Malin (400 inhabitants, 1,5 km from the farm). The first city is Beclean (10km).

* What do we grow on the farm?

We practice permaculture, and we grow our own food, for us and visitors. We are trying to reach food autonomy, so we need to harvest enough to fill the cellar for winter (potatoes, roots, jars…). We have a lot of walnuts and fruit trees. We have some chickens for eggs. We make hay for our tree donkeys and for mulching. We pick wilds flowers/plants.
We also do eco-construction to renovate the buildings : we are working as much as possible with natural materials (such as clay, straw, timber from the forest nearby…).

*Farm size

8 hectares on a hill, with a lot of grassland, and 1 hectare of forest.
There is the big house with rooms and dormitories, another building is the kitchen / common living room with a covered terrace, and there is also a huge barn with a working place.

*When do we accept volunteers: From April to the end of December.

*Volunteers’ activities:

- Usual stuff like cooking (we also make our own bread, and preserves for winter), doing the housework, taking care of animals, collecting firewood and construction wood,…
- Gardening, seeding, planting, watering, harvesting, mulching… We will also expand the cultivated area.
- Paint and renovate wooden structures (with ecological product).
- Sometimes during summer there are a lot of people at the farm, so we would need extra help for organization.

* Accommodation:

There is a dormitory for volunteers and visitors. Camping or sleeping in the hay barn or grassland is of course possible.
We have an outside solar shower (using rainwater), and dry toilet. We have electricity from the solar panels. No internet connexion (4G sometimes available).

* Diet:

We are mostly vegetarian, but sometimes we eat local meat. We eat mostly what we grow or collect, but if it’s not enough, we buy food from the neighborhood or at the market. One of us has a gluten-free diet, so there is gluten free meals available most of the time.

* A few words about the family:

We are 3 friends (around 30) coming from Belgium: Ludo, Remy and Coline.
We are not staying all the year togheter. (For now, only Ludo is staying in wintertime at the farm, but we hope we will be able soon to all stay here!)

* Pets:

Cius, Sanda and Camelia, our 3 donkeys! They help us to keep the pastures, and we organize hiking with them.
There is also our young dog Ginette, 3 cats, some chickens, and some fishes in the pond.
Wild friends like hedgehogs, lizards, squirrels, come often visit us.

* Others comments:

As we are not connected on water network, water resource is really precious, especially during summer. That means we take quick showers, only with rain water, and we clean the dishes only once a day.

* Conditions for volunteers

We prefer to host volunteers for a period of at least one month but this is not mandatory (depending on the needs).

Usually, we will ask you to help us in the farm at approximately 6 hours from Monday to Friday, plus the daily tasks (help for cooking, cleaning,...).

If you commit to stay with one month, we won`t ask you any financial participation for the food.
But if you stay less than one month, we would higly appreciate if you could help us with a small financial participation for the food cost (you pay what you want/can, but around 6 or 10 lei by day would be strongly appreciated), but it doesn’t have to be a barrier for you!

If you want to come, please contact us and we will talk about the every day life here, and our schedule and activities at this time :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use