help exchange   Host 59022
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.01
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59022
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 13, 2019

Hi. I'm John.

I was previously a helper on Helpx while I travelled around the world in 2015/2016. I'm now a host and I'm looking for someone to help out around my house in Portlaw in County Waterford for up to 4 hours a day, 20 hours a week.

In August 2015 I left Ireland to embark on an 11 month round the world trip taking in Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, UAE, Croatia, Netherlands and Belgium before returning to Ireland in July 2016.

My house is quiet as I currently live on my own. The town of Portlaw itself is only 20 minutes from Waterford City. It is a small town of about 1,700 people. It is a relatively new town in Irish terms and was established around the year 1825. The town has a small supermarket, a small grocery shop, an historical center, a library, a pharmacy, a Chinese takeaway, two fast food takeaways, a new bistro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The nearby Curraghmore Estate and Curraghmore House which dates back to the 12th century is only a 15 minute walk from my house. There is lots of peaceful woodland nearby where you can enjoy long walks.

My house has free Wifi. There is a DVD player, Blu Ray player, Google Chromecast and satellite TV in the Living Room where you can enjoy watching movies on the 40 inch TV. The kitchen has a microwave, cooker, oven, fridge, washing machine, toaster and kettle. You will have use of an iron for ironing clothes and a hairdryer.

I can also provide you with the use of a bicycle if you want to cycle around the nearby woodlands or country roads. I can pick you up if required from your arrival point in Waterford if you don't have a car. I work 4 days on and 4 days off so in my days off I can bring you to the nearby Comeragh Mountains for a day trip or the Waterford Greenway if you like cycling, or anywhere else in Waterford you would like to visit.

Duties around the house will include anything from indoor and outdoor painting, grass cutting, power washing, vacuuming, dusting, house cleaning and car washing. Basically nothing too stressful! I will try and be flexible with your working hours.

All bed linen and towels are provided.

In return I will offer accommodation in your own small single room that has a comfortable small double bed. Bathroom is shared. I will provide you with breakfast. Free tea and coffee is available at all times. I would ask you to provide your own food for all meals outside breakfast. The nearest Aldi supermarket is 13 minutes away by car where I can take you if you need to purchase food as it is cheaper than the local supermarket.

There is a bus service between Portlaw and Waterford City four times daily Monday to Saturday priced at 8 return.

Portlaw also has four pubs where you can enjoy a pint of Guinness and meet some of the (crazy) locals.

I look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use