help exchange   Host 59183
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Castlerea
All Year: Mainly Apr-Oct
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59183
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 1, 2019

Hi from a relaxed, friendly, smallholder who loves to 'host' and welcome volunteers as if they were family. I have a 1 hectare smallholding with sheep and poultry, an out of control vegetable garden and the beginning of a spectacular (if it ever gets finished) herbaceous border, and plenty of 'wild' bits, in NW Roscommon.

This year's tasks will be all about the garden, but you are welcome to try some (fully supervised) livestock tasks at the appropriate times of year (moving stock, dealing with families of baby chicks, sheep shearing and foot trimming etc). I try to give guests a mix of jobs and nothing too awful! You will get mowing and tidying but also, if we can, jobs for which you have stated a preference.

The farmhouse is 150 years old on the outside, 7 years old on the inside. Your room will be warm and comfortable as well as private but you will be welcome to treat all the 'common' areas like home. No television, but reasonably fast broad-band. We have three cats and three dogs if you need a fix of pet cuddling. I am a good cooks and create lovely meals mainly from meat and veg grown here. We love to cook across the broad spectrum of food preferences, including vegan and vegetarian, so please tell me if you have these. We also love our volunteers to cook us something 'from home' if that takes their fancy.

We have honey bees and a hive, so you might be wise to check before booking that you are not badly allergic to bee stings. I will, of course, try to keep you safe, but you can never be 100% sure with bees and a sunny garden task.

We are 10 mins from the nearest town by car. I am happy to drive you about within reason and would certainly collect you from Castlerea railway station, the bus stop at Ballaghaderreen or Knock Airport (which is only 25 minutes away down a quiet bog road!)

I look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use