help exchange   Host 59476
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Salaborda Velha
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5 ha
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59476
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 13, 2020

We are Peter (65) and Marion (55) and are running a small-scale goat farm.
Spring is in the air. Blossom every where. Grass growing like wild,trees devolping leaves. We are happy and more important the goats are.
Music of birds; we saw the first swalows comming in. Life can be wonderful.
The first baby goats (16) are born! They are beautiful.
(12 goats more to give birth; many lambs to be born beginning of this month)
Milking can start in two weeks from now! Cheese making in 6-8 weeks.

The farm is situated on the edge of a tiny village in the center of Portugal. We make cheeses and other dairy, and many more things (soy milk, tofu, pop-up restaurant, ...).

Our daily work focuses on animal welfare and respect for nature and natural processes.
On our farm, all goats have a name and we take them out every day into the forest and fields.
They collect there own food and thus contribute to forest fire prevention and keep a nice balance because of the variety of there diet.

In addition to the goats we have 2 pigs, 7 chickens and a rooster, 3 cats and a dog on the farm. We grow our vegetables as much as possible in our own organic vegetable garden. Some vegetables make it to the market.

During the big Pedrogao Grande wildfire (2017) all of our buildings and our land burned completely down. We were left with the goats, a painting and the clothes we were waring.

There now is a new house. We are still in a recovery fase. We have rebuilt stables and other.
Besides the daily routine such as taking care of animals and gardens, milking and cheese making,
there is much to do in the area of (re)construction and recovery of buildings and fencing.

Close to where we are (15-20 min walk) is a small river beach.
There are all kind of nice villages in the neighborhood you can visit and
most of the villages have their weekly markets. A nice day trip is to Tomar or Coimbra.
Who likes nature and animals can have a wonderful time here.
We have WiFi you can use in- and outdoors.
If you come to stay with us, you can have a bedroom in the house or sleep in our caravan.
You can join us with your meals with us or choose to make your own food. Depends on what’s convenient to you. We cook with meat, vegetarian and vegan. Dishes from all over the world.

We expect you to help for 6-7 hours a day, 5 days a week and an extra hand, if needed, during the weekends.

We’ll be most happy to hear from you,

Marion & Peter.

reviews (4)
Helper: Daniel Green Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: August 4, 2019
I stayed with Peter and Marion for 7 weeks (May-June), together with their Do... view complete review

Helper: Thaísa and Amora Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Brazil Date: November 28, 2018
This couple is incredible! we stayed about 2 weeks with Marion and Peter and ... view complete review

Helper: Mark and Juliet Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 9, 2018
As soon as we arrived at the house of Marion and Peter, we were accepted as p... view complete review

Helper: Judith and Marcel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 25, 2018
Marion and Peter are two absolutly open hearted Persons, who welcomed us very... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use