help exchange   Host 59646
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Barrit
All Year: Mostly in growing season
Area (ha): 500
Persons: 1-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59646
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 24, 2019

-- We have helpers from mid June to mid July --

I'm currently employed at Barritskov, responsilbe for the cattle. We have here 250-300 cattle grazing the 120 ha grasslands to fertilize the crop production. I am learning to use the Savory holistic management framework to plan the grazing.

Next season we are planning a vegetable garden about 0,7 ha and a lot of handwork. I welcome interested people from around the world to come and work with the plants and get insight into the biodynamic farming principles. We will be using preperations on the soil, plants and in the compost. We make the preperations in a group with other farmers who meet twice to three times a year.

There are very beautiful surroundings here. The house I live in is in the edge of a big forest and within walking distance to the sea. In the summertime it's nice to lay on the warm stones listening to the waves.
I also have a lake in the backyard with fish in it.

I have made this profile because I would like to meet people interested in working with farming from all over the world. I would also like to share my knowledge and experience so we can spread good farming practices.

I think it's vital for the future of mankind on this planet that we quickly adopt environmentally sustainable ways of living, working, farming ... whatever we are doing. It seems from everyone who opens their mouth that our chances literally are being burnt off as we speak.

If you are interested in saving the world then I would like to meet you. I think we have a lot to talk about.

Previously agreements with helpers have been that they work 20 hrs/week for food and board. Although you might have to shop and cook yourself sometimes. It seems reasonable and I can then get some assistance to pay the rent.
We don't have so much to do in the wintertime but write a message if you are interested and we can see about it.

The nearest town with opportunities for shopping is 7 km away the nearest bigger cities are Vejle or Horsens about 25km away.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use