help exchange   Host 59759
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59759
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2018


We are Annie (Australian), Jean-Philippe (French), Martin (10), Tomas (5) and Georges (1). We live in a large 18th century house on half an acre in the small village of Cox about 1 hour west of Toulouse. We speak French and English, and can stumble along in Spanish.

We are looking for practical independent people to help us finish renovating our house and getting our garden into shape. You should be happy spending time in a noisy family, as our boys and the neighbours` kids will be excited to meet you.

Our main projects for this summer are re-tiling the roof, constructing retaining walls for the garden , installing the main staircase, finishing the bathroom, and the vegetable garden.

But we need all kinds of help: plastering, tiling, carpentry, painting, plumbing, garden design/maintenance, clearing out the barns, cooking, playing with kids!

We expect a total of 25 hours work per week. Depending on what big job needs doing next, we can be flexible about the schedule: e.g. some hours per day or full day on full day off, etc.

Our village is well-placed for visiting the Pyrenees (great skiing and hiking) and Toulouse (student city with a beautiful historic downtown and good transport connections). Other lovely places like Carcassonne or Albi can be visited for a daytrip. From Toulouse, it is easy to reach the Mediterranean, the Atlantic Coast, and Spain by train.

There is no regular public transport from Cox, but we can pick you up and drop you off at a convenient train station. Cox has a popular village restaurant/cafe.

We love food! We can cater for vegetarians but you would need to be comfortable with the fact that we do enjoy our barbecues.

There`s no smoking in the house, but we`re happy to host smokers as long as you`re happy to smoke on the terrasse or in the garden.

As for accommodation, we have a room in the house to offer, a shared bathroom, and lots of shared space for relaxation and taking aperitif. There is wifi.

I realise that some of our photos are upside down, but I can`t work out how to fix it. On a clear day you can see the Pyrenees from our terrace... unfortunately we took the photo on a cloudy day!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use