help exchange   Host 59823
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Liberty
All Year: No
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59823
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 1, 2017

We are a small farm located in south-central Kentucky about 25 minutes from a large city and 1 1/2 hours south of Lexington. We’re surrounded by homesteads and other farms of various sizes, including a lot of farms that raise cattle, sheep, and goats or grow corn and soybeans. We are located just a few miles from a large Mennonite & Amish community.

Our farm is Certified Naturally Grown and specializes in garlic, seasonal vegetables, and a lot of fruits that we sell directly from the farm. Our garlic is sold the internet when in season. Most of our days are spent outdoors harvesting, planting, and preserving what we pick. Maintenance of the buildings, fences, and small building projects (such as raised beds, bramble fencing, splitting wood, cutting down trees, etc.) are some of the projects we’re working on. We currently have no farm animals but hope to start with chickens and possibly hogs and goats in 2018.

While most of our fruit is now out of season, there are still many fall crops that need to be maintained, picked, weeded, harvested, and canned. Also, I will begin planting garlic around 15 October until done (usually it takes 3-4 weeks).

Our pool is still open! Water temperature is about 78-80. As long as it stays 70+ (21 C) we will keep it open. When it closes, we have a hot tub that can be used daily.

We’re flexible as to the length of stay of any volunteer. We don’t mind if you only want to stay a few days or a few weeks. Self-motivation, and someone who can keep themselves entertained when the weather isn’t cooperating, is a must.

If you’re brand new to farming, I would prefer your initial stay with us be less than two weeks unless you have previous farming experience or have special skills that we would enjoy. If you have carpentry skills, please less us know. We really need help with an out building or two.

If you are a proficient tree cutter and have your own chainsaw, we would love you to stay with us in November and cut firewood for us.

I expect at least six hours of work each day. Rainy days you'll usually have off, but will need to make up that time on nice days. We flow with the weather and work when we can.

Accommodations are a second floor private bedroom with two single beds, fans and air conditioning. The bathroom is on the 1st floor and shared with one other person. One or two volunteers could share the bedroom, but they would have to know each other in advance (like two siblings, two friends, or a couple) and not mind sharing the same space. We have DSL internet that works with laptops and SmartPhones via WiFi in the house.

Because we are in such a rural area, there is no public transportation available. A long-term volunteer would be taken into the city one or two times a month, if needed, to do some shopping or catch a movie. If the volunteer was coming in from out of state/country, our nearest airport is in Lexington The bus (Greyhound) also stops in Lexington (2 hrs away), Berea (almost 1.5 hrs) or London (about 1 hr 10 minutes); we would be willing to pick you up.

Our household speaks English, but I am also fluent in Spanish. A Spanish-speaking volunteer would be ideal since I rarely get the chance to practice. I can also be helpful if your main language is French or Italian, although I am not fluent.

At this time we cannot accommodate children or pets. However, the volunteer would have to be accepting of our indoor cats. We also have outdoor farm cats. No animal would be directly in your private bedroom.

The majority if what we eat we grow on the farm ourselves, with the exception of meat and dairy (which we buy locally). If you have any special dietary needs, please let me know in advance.
Most of the nearby sites and attractions in this part of the country would need to be driven to. If a long-term volunteer would like to do a little bit of sight-seeing or take a day trip once in a while, we would be accommodating.

Work times and schedules are flexible. We’re very accommodating if you have your own car and would like to take a day off here or there to sight-see or handle personal business or for religious reasons.

If you’d like to consider volunteering on our farm, please contact me so we can discuss it further. Please only apply if you are a non-smoker. Thank you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use