help exchange   Host 60030
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 210
Persons: 2 to 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60030
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 11, 2018

We are farming together with our family on a sheep and beef farm in Waiau. We have 2 boys, Todd aged 9 and Peter aged 7. I also work part time as a veterinarian based in Culverden. We enjoy meeting new people.

It is preferable for you to have your own transport or at least have a current full drivers licence. We are looking for someone who can help with general farm maintenace, taking down old fences, helping with stock work and basic tractor driving.

There are always lots of jobs to do around the house :cooking, cleaning, child minding, gardening, getting firewood and looking after the animals. So this job might suit a couple.

We live 5minutes from the small rural town of Waiau, an hour's drive from Kaikoura (famous for whale watching and dolpin encounter) and 40 mins from the famous Hanmer Springs, well known for the hot pools, hiking, biking and the great outdoors. Mount Lyford skifield is just a 20 minute drive away and we like to take the kids up to enjoy some great skiing.

The accomodation and meals in exchange of 4 hours work a day and some participation in the preparation and cleaning up of the dinner table after everyone has enjoyed a nice meal! Also we are flexible on how you would like to organize your working time (morning, afternoon, full day to have a day off,...).

So if you are an enthusiastic, hard working person with a sence of humour (who doesn't mind getting your hands dirty) who would like to experience some real kiwi farming, we would be happy to hear from you!

Greg and Sarah

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use