help exchange   Host 60127
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Retford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 60127
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 11, 2019

We bought a derelict smallholding not so long ago and moved in with all of our animals. We have a challenge doing it up at the same time as working and looking after the animals. We would love to welcome anyone who would help us tick a few jobs off the long list of things to do and get this place looking and working well again.
There are a variety of activities from animal care to restoring an organic vegetable patch, through to some outbuilding maintenance. The jobs will be as varied as the animals we keep.
We have alpacas, chickens, sheep, ducks, rabbits, cats, dogs and peafowl.
We have 7 cria due in 2019, so there will also be plenty of opportunities to help out with alpaca births and mating.

The accommodation is somewhat rustic, but that is only because we haven`t yet finished restoring the bungalow. You will be given an upstairs room and will share our downstairs shower room. We currently sleep in the living room. Upstairs is very much unfinished; it is nearly completely insulated and we have started plasterboarding. You`ll have the whole floor to yourself. It`s spacious, bright, warm and you can use our wifi.

We are in a very quiet village, but only 30 minutes from Lincoln, an hour from Sheffield, York, Nottingham, Leicester.

I am half French, so speak - relatively - fluently, once my brain gets back into `French` gear.

We will provide meals to anyone who stays with us; breakfast is a help-yourself affair; lunch is a snacking meal (either sandwiches or pasta) and evenings are a full, cooked meal. We`d just ask that any sweets, alcohol, pop, or other luxuries be bought by yourself.

If any of that sounds good to you, please get in touch. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we can have fun building this place back up together :)

We have space from January onwards. Minimum stay 2 weeks, please, but you're also welcome to stay for the whole winter if you wish.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use