help exchange   Host 60644
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Elora
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 60644
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2019

We are a busy, blended, bilingual family, looking for some help at our home!

We are Joanna and Luc, and together we have five kids. Our five children are ages are 13, 11, 7, 4, and 2 years old. We speak French and English at the home, but speak a *little* bit of Spanish as well.

We rent about two acres of land, which is surrounded by 150 acres of farmer's field. We try to make and grow a lot of our own food, and try to spend a lot of the day outside. We have 4 egg-laying chickens right now, a rooster, and 2 goats. We play with the kids, do gardening, and have camp fires. We love entertaining and having guests when possible, and we have family and friends nearby that we see quite often. They are very friendly and love to get to know new people.

We also live across from the Elora Gorge, which is part of the Grand River Conservation Authority (there are several GRCA parks in Ontario). We love to go for walks and enjoy the scenery. Elora is a very cute little town, about 3km from our house. It has about 5000 people in it, lots of shopping and cute coffee shops.

We have bikes for use and rides in our cars could be arranged as well. Accommodation for is a little cabin, 8 feet x 10 feet. It is separate from our house, really just like a bedroom. There is no bathroom attached; however, use of our indoor one is of course permitted! You may use our kitchen and living room as well. We are happy to have you in our home. Our house is small inside but it is cozy and forces us to get outside. We also have lots of room in our yard to set up tents!

For about 4 hours of work a day, 5 days a week, we would offer room and board, lots of yummy home made food (and some home grown!), and chances to check out local sites with us... Your tasks each day would vary. We would need some help in our veggie garden (experience is great but not necessary!), taking care of our egg-laying chickens and our two goats, some help with the kids or cooking, and/or help with woodworking projects (again, experience welcome but not necessary!). There is always lots going on at our place! We love to travel but now is not the time for us, so we want to have travelers come to us.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use