help exchange   Host 60848
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Telegraph Creek
All Year: no
Area (ha): 39.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 60848
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 5, 2019

Greetings! We are located 4.5km past Telegraph Creek, British Columbia, on a 98 acre property. My husband and I run a Bed and Breakfast year round. We are 100% off grid, using solar panels in the spring/summer/fall, and a generator in the winter months when there isn't as much sunlight. We have a small farm and expanding our garden site every year; we keep very busy! And we are needing an extra set of hands(or two!) to help us out.

We are looking for a helper(individual, or a couple; as it is a shared bed/room) who want to stay for a few weeks or a bit longer, preferably between April through to October(as these are the busiest months for us) for who would be interested in helping with the following tasks:

Gardening, Lawn mowing/yard work(raking grass clippings, pruning trees, weed whacking, etc.), Wood Chipping(for our garden), splitting & Stacking Firewood(we do have a wood splitter), Housekeeping/organizing, Helping with Building Construction, Fencing, shovelling horse&chicken manure, Helping care for horses and chickens, etc. Basically a lot of outside work! We are looking for a helper(individual, or a couple; as it is a shared bed/room) with some experience with the above tasks; someone who can work by themselves if needed, honest, good worker,reliable and easy to get along with. (of course we are willing to teach if you are interested in learning some new skills!) :)

Animals on our property: Right now we have 2 horses, 20+ chickens, 2 dogs, and 4 cats.

For your help of 30-35 hours per week, we are offering you:?
A canvas wall tent, Food(you may have to make your own breakfast and lunch from time to time, basic supplies will be provided), Internet.??The Canvas Wall Tent has a comfortable Queen bed. There is no heat(but we can arrange heating if needed, in the cooler spring/fall months! It is very warm in the summer time.) Very comfortable, and you have your own space/privacy. You are welcome to use the Bed and Breakfast bathroom/kitchen area when it is not in use. It has a shower/toilet/sink(and there is an outhouse close to the Wall Tent as well). You MUST clean up after yourself after every time, as we have guests coming and going. When the B&B building is in use, you may use our Kitchen/Bathroom area. We also have a washer you may use; we hang our laundry in the warmer months to save on power & propane.
**If you have your own tent, or camper, etc, you are more than welcome to set that up on our property!

Depending on the time of year, you may get a chance to hop in the boat with us and check out the Stikine River! There are hiking trails up the mountains close by, a place to swim & fish at in the local lake, great area for cycling and walking as well. Relax in nature; so many different species of birds; lots of wildlife(moose,bears,wolves,deer, foxes, etc) in the area! If you are out driving/walking/biking, you are likely to see something in your travels. Telegraph Creek is a beautiful area, and there is so much to see, do, and explore; this is an amazing experience and opportunity for anyone interested in this remote lifestyle!

We do a lot of different projects around our property; for example, we have switched to BTE gardening(back to eden/wood-chip gardening), so we are learning the process of that type of gardening and we are willing to share this experience with others!It is a lot of work, but we are finding the results are rewarding. We have a few building projects coming up(building a barn!) soon as well; we are always doing something, but we also have fun and enjoy life in the north.

Once you get to Dease Lake, BC; I can pick you up from there. Our location is very remote, and getting here can be a bit challenging if you do not have your own vehicle! So I encourage you to do your research on our location and this area, and how to get here, before committing.

We would love to have you stay here with us; If you are interested, please contact us; we look forward to hearing from you. :) Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions at all!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use