help exchange   Host 60871
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): city lot
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 60871
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2019

Looking for single person or couple to barter food and accommodations in exchange for labour.
Short term for individual projects or longer term for multiple projects
30 hours of labour per week. Hours include time spent on regular household chores, cleaning and help with food preparation. That would give you time for a part time job if you want to work outside the house.
The accommodations are one furnished bedroom on the second level. Living areas, kitchen, bathroom, 2 decks and yard are shared with me. The decks have patio chairs, table and umbrella, a couple lounging chairs, and a bbq. Unlimited Wifi
The main level is rented out as a bed and breakfast.
We would have to discuss food. I try to eat as much as possible form my garden. I am not on a special diet but generally try to limit sugars and caffeine and avoid, dairy, gluten and alcohol.
The projects (not necessarily in order of priority) are as follows:

o make and install garden beds
o seal/paint exposed bricks
o build solar food dehydrator
o Build greenhouse/she shed (off grid)
o Install permeable driveway stone
o some carpentry work

I am also exploring the possibility of doing some permaculture (sustainable and self-sufficient agriculture).
My background, while extensive, isn’t traditional. I got my start many years ago in hospitality, tourism, food and beverage, retail and Equine Care. For a short while I tried my hand at self employment from home in the fashion and garment industry while my children were young. From there I branched off into Administrative Support in sectors such as Not For Profit, Corporations, Private Clubs, Executive Recruiters and then Higher Education and Health Care and the past year Organic Farming and operating a B&B.
In 2016 I returned from a wonderful year long journey across Western and Northern Canada. I love to travel, Canada is my favourite, but have been to Barcelona, Italy, Switzerland, China, Jamaica, Cuba and many states. I love to cook but haven’t had much time for it lately. I have also lived in Toronto, Mississauga, Burlington, Brampton, Bramalea and St. Bruno (Quebec). I am loving Hamilton, an exciting friendly city, strong arts culture, beautiful nature, and one of the largest concentration of early 20th century homes and mansions.
My travel across Canada included extensive time volunteering as a WWOOFer on a variety of organic farms in BC, SK, MB and ON. I also spent 2 months exploring the far North of BC and stayed on a small gold mining camp at the onset of my year away and ended sitting in a Vipassana (a silent meditation retreat) for 10 days. I learned so much on many levels and met many amazing and inspiring people.
Getting established in a new routine once again
I am happy and proud to call Hamilton home. Having lived here (on and off) for the past 23 years I’ve witnessed Hamilton transform from a ‘steel town’ to a University and Arts City. It is an exciting transformation.
Hamilton is an exciting friendly city, strong arts culture, beautiful nature, home to over 100 waterfalls with beautiful walking and biking trails and one of the largest concentration of early 20th century homes and mansions. The neighbourhood is safe, friendly with pedestrian traffic and bicycle paths close by. You will be one block away from trendy Locke Street where there is plenty of restaurants, fine dining, a spa, Starbucks, gym and shopping.
Within walking distance is the gorgeous Bruce Trail, Hess Village, St. Joseph's Hospital, James Street (with Friday night Art Crawls every other week), First Ontario Centre, Convention Centre, Hamilton Tennis Club, City Hall, GO station, Court house and Jackson Square, Dundurn Castle.
Chedoke Golf Club, Royal Botanical Gardens, McMaster University, Tim Hortons Field are all a 5-10 minute drive.
You will be a block away from the city bus/transit system.
Community bicycles can be rented from the location on Locke Street 2 blocks away. Dedicated bicycle lanes throughout the area and the City connects you to numerous bike trails along the escarpment and waterfront.
The closest GO bus stop is 1 block away at Main and Pearl if you are coming to Hamilton, and at King/Queen if you are leaving Hamilton.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use