help exchange   Host 61336
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 90
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 61336
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 11, 2018

We run a small farm in Gaupen, Ringsaker. We are a family of 5, Ann-Eli (53), Ole Peder (54), 2 adult daugthers who are not living at home anymore, a girl aged 12, and we also have a dog, two cats, six horses and soon some hens.

We bought the farm three years ago and have been spendig the last two years customizing it to our needs. The farm is approved as a”Inn på Tunet-farm” (Green Care) and we offer services to people with ligth dementia, young people without work and an alternative for drop out students. Our intention is to be able to give our customers good and meaningful days. However, there is still a lot of work left to do on the farm before we can reach our goal for the purpose it has. Some of the work remaining is some light carpentry such as building a house for the hens, set up a workshop, painting the barn and other buildings, repaire fences. We also have a passion for growing fruits, berries and vegetables, both in our kitchen garden and in our green house.

Year around there will be tasks such as firewood making, taking care of the animals, helping me train the horses, brushing saddles and harness, and cleaning out the stable.
In the spring we need help preparing the garden for sowing and planting, bring out manure, fencing and preparing the hay field.
In the late summer/early fall there will be tasks such as hay work, gardening, harvesting fruits, berries and veggies, and making jam, juice etc.
In the fall there will be need of clearing up for winter and renovation work around the farm

We are looking for people who enjoy physical work and have carpentry, gardening and painting skills. Ideally we want people who can stay long term: several months or longer, but our minimum stay is three weeks. We prefer that you don’t smoke.
We have decided to take in helpers all year. In the winter we will take only one person and that person need to be a "horse"person, because the work will mainly be stable work and exercise our 4 horses together with me.

The helpers will be living in a flat in the stablehouse, where we have one bedroom, a living area with a full kitchen and living room corner, and a toilet room. There will be access to a shower inside the main house. Free wifi.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use