help exchange   Host 61501
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring/summer /autum
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 2, couple or friends
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 61501
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2019

Gerda & Eric Helpx

We are looking for a suitable couple or 2 friends able to start after ASAP to help us to restore our gardens.
If you are a keen gardener and able to work unsupervised, able to handle shovel, wheelbarrow, mower and other gardening tools, and enjoy good food... you are it.

We have an acreage of land set amongst farmland (mostly grain farming) in Bannockburn which is approximately 90km from Melbourne. The closest city is Geelong, which is 20km away. Bannockburn can be reached by bus from Geelong. We are close to The Great Ocean road, Angelsea, Torquay, Bells Beach & quaint coastal villages.

Your own vehicle would be a bonus for you but not essential.

A little bit about ourselves: we are a retired couple who’s have lived in Victoria for the past 12 years. We moved here from Queensland to be closer to our grandchildren. Our daughter & son in law are on the farm and we are close by to help out with the children. Eric has a sailboat which you will no doubt be able to go on weather permitting . Eric was a sailing instructor when we lived in France and is still sailing now and loves to share his knowledge and experiences with others. I (Gerda) enjoy spending my time in the garden, in the kitchen, and looking after my grandchildren & travelling around the world in between.

We have enjoyed the company’s of Chinese, french and more recent a couple from Italie and Singapore . As we have moved here 3 years ago, we are still landscaping and needing help weeding, paving, cutting and splitting wood etc. We love growing our own vegetables and using the wonderful local produce that is readily available around us: goats cheese, strawberries, raspberries, gooseberries, wine - (we are in a food bowl!). There are wonderful markets to visit, beautiful antique shops and it's close to Melbourne & the coast.

We need keen and experienced helpers/gardeners with initiative as we have a big job in the garden. If that sounds like you , we would like to invite you to our Helpx with a lovely room , all meals included in return for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week with 2 days off out of the week. (This can be negotiated if you like more days off ). Wifi available. Live as apart of our family. We all work hard but enjoy time off as well
Éric has now take his boat back into the water after a long winter, so he will need your help for this as well

Strict NO smoking

Hope to read you soon

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use