help exchange   Host 6212
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: March-October
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 - 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6212
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 7, 2020

Bonjour and Hello,

We are a family of 5 (plus a very friendly dog, 2 cats, 11 assorted hens and a cockerel!) We have 3 sons (18,15,12) who moved from the UK in 2007 to this amazing spot in the Aude . We live in a former bergerie situated amidst beautiful wooded hills 3km from the small village of Arques on the edge of the Corbieres hills.

We grow a lot of our own vegetables and herbs and some of our own fruit all naturally. We are experimenting with different natural cultivation techniques to find ones that work best here and working with a variety of mulching materials.
We have a small organic market garden the produce of which we sell in the village and to the local primary school. We also exchange produce with friends.
Much of our land is marginal and needs help to become capable of providing good healthy crops. After years of growing here the improvements are showing themselves through some yummie-tasting veggies.
We have a polytunnel which in winter is full of salads while in the summer we have sweet and chilli peppers, cucumbers,aubergines etc.
Outside in the field we grow a mixture of veggies including potatoes,courgettes,onions, tomatoes,salads, beans,beetroot and carrots also some currants,raspberries and strawberries.

We have planted a small fruit and nut orchard (a long-awaited dream for us)and the seeing the trees blossom and begin to bear fruit and nuts is wonderful.

We have also a mixed woodland; a wonderful haven to wander through and enjoy the peace and beauty of the forest with its ancient trees and spring fed stream; We are gradually removing the plantation pine in order to encourage regeneration of the native broad-leaved trees.
We have many other ongoing projects including;improving our rainwater harvesting, storage and irrigation system; and building compost toilets. We would also like to plant more fruit and nut trees and to work on a design for our forest garden. During the spring and summer months however work in the vegetable gardens take priority. Be prepared to spend time weeding and to work early mornings or evenings weather depending!

We are looking for helpxers who will share in our enthusiasm for life and work here. Helpxers who are motivated, love the great outdoors and can enjoy working hard (some of our jobs are physically demanding).All ages welcome! An interest in growing food sustainably and naturally is a must. You need to be prepared to work on your own at times and be happy to live as part of our family.

There is great walking in the area, and we can lend you bikes for exploring the extensive network of forest trails. There is a swimming lake about 3km away, as well as hot springs 20 mins drive away.

We ask for 5 hours work a day /5 days a week. In return we offer own room in house(with small en-suite) and shared meals which are vegetarian or vegan. (though we are not a vegan household) We all share the chores.We bake most of our own bread and meals are made from our own or local seasonal produce whenever possible.Inventive cooks welcome!

We are are quite isolated here, but we can collect you from Couiza (train station/bus stop) We usually suggest a 2 or 3 week stay ( happiness review after one week !) as this gives us long enough to achieve a good working routine. But we are open to suggestions...

Looking forward to meeting you
Klair and Ivan

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use