help exchange   Host 62885
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 62885
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 2, 2018

Autnum 2018: We are looking for a person who is cabable to help us with a building work, who is interested historical and natural values of construction work and who is cabable to take rensponsability. You will be a helper, so you dont need to be a professional, but we wish you are interested, cabable, and passionate person to learn about traditional nordic way to build the house and the garden.

We are four person family, sheep, chickens and cat. Parents we are craftsmen in various fields and art is an important part of both work. We cherish old traditions and organic living in all our efforts. The area where we live is old and the village of Skogäng has been inhabited for hundreds of years. We have rebuild the 100v. old cowshed as workshops and as guest accommodations. Traditional Finnish loghouse we built 2010 as our home at next to it. The loghouse shows different types of craftsmanship, almost everything is handmade. In the garden we grow herbs, onions, salads, etc. Every year the garden expands and we get more and more food from there. We eat organic food.

We would like to get help for taking care of animals, building and repairing of sheep fences and normal house hold.

We also need help in the building work. We are glad if you have the skills and interest in your hands. You will get guidance and advice from us, and most of the time you will work together with Jarno, who is always glad to have an extra pair of hands and company for building . Our houses warms up with wood, so you could also chop firewood and help us to heat many of our fireplaces.

We have sheep. We love them. We grow the sheep as much as we need. For us, it is important for animals to live their lives as good as possible. We slaughter the sheep and chicken by ourselves at home because we want them to live happily till the end. We try to use all parts of the sheep: wool for yarns, skin, meat, bones and organs. This is our way to respect the animal to not throw any part away. Saara is an expert of spinning in traditional ways, so you may want to learn how to spin yarn!

You could also cook, take care of the garden, pick up berries from the forest, etc. depending of your own interests, skills and of our needs. Our children may want to go to swim or play with you. Kids are 11 and 13 years old and some of their hobbies are music, visual arts, snowboarding and horse riding. 2km from our place is a Billnäs horse riding center and Påminne ski center. You can take your spouse or a friend with you if another one wants to help building or taking care of animal and other wants to take part in other works in the house.

Here you can live in your own private room, we have lot of places to choose. At lake very nearby you can swim. We have sauna in our yard, usually warming up couple of times a week. Supermarket is 5 kilometers away from here. You can borrow a car or a bicycle to move around and to explore the nearby Fiskars and Billnäs historical iron factory villages now full of craftsmen and art. On the lake you can use our wooden rowing boat for fun or for fishing. During the winter, you can borrow ice skates. Jarno is driving to Helsinki at least once a week and daily we drive to Karjaa town, so if you don't have a driving licence, you will get a ride every now and then.

Here we have days we work a lot from the dusk till dawn but some days we take it easy with naps and doing things slowly. We wish you to take part different types of our daily works and the things what to do depends a lot of which time of the year you will stay here. We plan daily what work needs to be done, so the working hours could change every day. We don't count the hours but certain things must to get done and we expect you will be part of our daily tasks like a family member. One or both of us speak suomi, svenska or english and we also would like to learn new languages.

We are easy, down to earth, social, friendly people living our life how we like it to be. We respect the nature and another human beings, so we wait the same from you!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use