help exchange   Host 62934
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 62934
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 11, 2018

Currently looking for helpers for 2019.

Nick and James (and Luna, the dog) bought a collection of ruined farm buildings on 3 hectares in 2011 and have been steadily restoring since. The location is fairly remote. There is a small village 1km away, there is a tennis court, fishing lake, numerous countryside walks and cycling routes. The nearest town is 6km away and has numerous shops, a weekly traditional French market, a beautiful Château, bars and restaurants. Despite the remoteness there is always something going on. Work has just started on restoring a barn.

Accommodation is within the recently restored main house. You will have a private room with a double bed, WiFi and a lounge with UK and French TV. Or there is a camping field, if you prefer! We will provide all meals including at least one meal out per week. In exchange for about 4-5 hours helping per day, 5 days per week, we invite you for a 2 week stay. Longer stays are possible after a successful first visit. We are very flexible about working hours. We fit work in around the weather and recreational activities but typically 11am - 5pm with an hour for lunch is a normal day.

No specific skills are necessary, as most things can be taught, although a keen interest in DIY and aspects of building restoration and garden maintenance would be advantageous. The work is hugely varied and tasks can be found to meet your skills and or interest, we could be working on the house, an outbuilding, or on the grounds. Anything from building, or restoring walls, roofing, carpentry, tiling, plumbing, electrics, painting, fibre-glassing, dog walking, or mowing grass. Mostly you will just be helping with whatever is going on during your visit.

We want you to enjoy your stay, learn new skills and remember your recreational time as much as a holiday. We have bicycles for you to use and explore, there is an off road go-kart track, dart board, various games. There are numerous fruit trees and a neglected vegetable garden. The skies are not light polluted and on a clear night the star gazing is stunning.

We welcome people of all nationalities, male or female, straight or gay, single or couples. It would be helpful if you had your own car but not essential. The nearest airport is Tours and the nearest station is Vass.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use