help exchange   Host 6328
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


San Diego County
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.6
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6328
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 4, 2019

This is a 6.75 acre farm in southern California where we grow all sorts of exotic tropical fruit trees and ordinary fruit trees and vegetables and macadamia nuts and bamboos and special grasses. We grow white sapotes, cherimoyas, avocados, tropical guavas, citrus, apples, peaches, nectarines, loquats, mulberries, feijoas, jaboticaba, persimmon, pomegranate, surinam cherries, dragon fruit, etc. We are raising chickens and worms. We are always building new things for the farm and making new gardens and doing maintenance on the farm. Often this building involves welding.

It is warm and sunny all year around, with what little rain we get coming usually between November and March. The farm is always frost free. It is pretty hot in the middle of the day in the summer (can have days in 80's and 90's at anytime of the year), so working then is better in the mornings or late afternoons. The farm is on the side of a hill and is steep in places so one must be a bit careful and wear sturdy shoes with good tread and we do not take obese volunteers.

We prefer a minimum stay of 4 weeks, and prefer Helpers who genuinely want to use their time with us to learn and contribute. We are looking for someone who would enjoy a prolonged stay (6-12 months or longer) with many opportunities to learn about the plants we grow and participate in various projects, etc. We can use WWOOFers all year around. We have a separate little building(unheated, dorm style, and can be chilly in the winter:)) with beds for WWOOFers. It has a bathroom and shower(cold water only). Some WWOOFers have enjoyed the cold water after a day in the sun:) Warm showers are available in main house. WWOOFers have access to the main house for meals and other times. Limited WiFi is also available in main house. We can accommodate one to two WWOOFers.

We desire WWOOFers to demonstrate genuine interest in farming/gardening showing curiosity, desire to learn, self motivation to get things done well, responsibility to detail. The work here is weeding, watering, working with irrigation systems, planting new plants, trimming trees, maintaining and making new gardens and taking care of the animals, etc, etc. In addition we usually have some major project that we are working on, such as irrigation installation, setting up hydroponics system for veggies, taking down trees, etc. and WWOOFers are involved with these projects also. We are working to incorporate more permaculture ideas on our farm. WWOOFers help with food preparation and cleanup for our community meals and general housekeeping. We expect WWOOFers to want to work with us on our usual farm chores (for example, care of garden and trees and fowl, etc) and special projects (taking down trees, installing irrigation systems, etc). We also want WWOOFers to be self starters when given some guidance. Some of our days can be long and others not; that is the nature of farming and what is often required! The literal fruits of our labors are actually quite delicious and though they grow on trees, they don't just grow there by themselves:)! We aim to balance harder physical work (like digging) with easier work (like watering) and we aim to balance work with relaxation:)

One would usually work with long sleeves and pants and work shoes and a hat to protect from the sun and any irritations from plants. One could also dress cooler and rely on sun screen to protect from the sun. We do not take WWOOFers who smoke as we do not like our house to smell like smoke and this is a bad fire hazard area. This farm is beautiful and peaceful and quiet.

We speak excellent English here and we speak Spanish poorly. There are usually very few flies, mosquitoes or bugs. The beaches are excellent. The mountains are beautiful and the desert is worth seeing. Public transportation is poor to non-existent around the farm and to get to the cities. Taxis are way too expensive to be useful. A car is not required and we occasionally take WWOOFers to town with us when we go to shop, to library for free concerts and other programs, etc.

We are open to different ages as long as the person can easily do manual labor and not have problems working in hot weather and going up and down hill:) Often our work can be quite physical, for example, helping take down trees, moving wood, digging for new projects, etc. That is not our only work, however, that is part of our work that WWOOFers help us with:) We are not set up to accommodate children. We had to say goodbye to our wonderful Samoyed, Fuzzy:(
We now have a young lab, Wally, who is a lot of fun. We do not accept WWOOFers with pets because of our fowl.

We eat all foods. We serve a lot of fresh food here. We eat a lot of fruit and vegetables from the farm. We eat meat. We eat very well here.

It is about 45 min. drive to the beaches and an hour to the city of San Diego and 2 hours to Los Angeles. Bus transportation is available though takes longer. It is 20-30 minutes drive to small towns. It is a little over an hour to the snow (in Winter) and deserts and Mexico. It is about one hour drive to the San Diego International Airport if it is not rush hour and going via bus is also possible though longer. We meet WWOOFers at Pala Casino. It can be reached by public bus transportation that is not difficult though is time consuming. At times there is a bus connection that goes to intersection of I 15 and Hwy 76 and we can meet you there.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use