help exchange   Host 6558
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Waverly
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6558
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 19, 2020

LEARN ENGLISH AND CULTURE ON THE TENNESSEE RIVER - [TO APPLY SEE FORM BELOW] - We are a well traveled couple living on the Tennessee River. We have had visitors from all over the world. We usually have several projects, some very interesting, some mundane. We are looking for people, 1 or 2 at a time, who want to work here and enjoy the peaceful rural river life. We take a proactive role in correcting your English grammar and word choice, during daily conversation, for those that want English improvement.
Type of Help: Gardening, Building, General Maintenance.
Work is varied, but it usually involves hand or electric tools(guys). There may be carpentry work, garden work, maintenance, dock work, boat work, deck work, concrete work, and odd projects. Etc. we try to tailor what needs to be done with your skills and abilities or your desire to learn certain skills. More likely the work is similar to construction work than anything else. If you've been told that you're HARDWORKING, PROACTIVE, THOROUGH, and tend to PAY ATTENTION TO DETAILS then I can't wait to hear from you. The general plan is to exchange 5 hours/day for a sleeping area as well as food (meals or ingredients to prepare meals) will be available and a day off.
Languages Spoken: English, some Spanish, some Italian. (NOTE: We have traveled extensively and are understanding of all levels of language skills).
Accommodation: You will most likely have your own room but some times sharing is necessary. Bathroom and showers: you will have your own bathroom and shower. You eat with us. We are looking for someone who can make themselves part of the household. We share house chores, cleaning, cooking, putting away.
What Else:
We like people who can blend into the household. We love to talk and visit with our guests, and in the course of a stay we will learn a lot about them and they will learn a lot about us, we enjoy our together time and alone time and free time. We can let our guests know what there is to do around here. You can go with us when we go to town.

We live on a beautiful river. Be sure you understand that we are in a remote location. 25 minutes from a little town, but only 1 hr and 40 min from Nashville. Most enjoy the rural tranquility and peace of the location, but some find it more quiet than they would prefer. You should google-earth our location.

Google "mid-cumberland humphreys county". This is a link to our local car service that can pick you up and drop you off for side trips, arrival or departure. It is reasonable and so far very reliable:
http://tntransit.org/county_page/humphreys.php
but it has to be reserved a couple of days ahead of time.

We try to promptly reply to everyone who inquires. SEE BELOW
NOTE: Only volunteers with COMPLETED profiles with PHOTO will be considered. Please include, desired month/time of year (approx.) AND DESIRED LENGTH OF STAY.

Sorry, no pets in the house. We can accommodate pets only outside, 100% of the time.

* * * * * * * *

To Speed Up The Approval Process we recommend answering each of the following questions. We prefer if you do it in this format.

Where are you from:

Name(First/Last):

Phone number (if you have one):

Male or Female:

Age:

Height (males only) _____ (cm?or In?)

Weight (males only) ______ (Kg or Lbs)

How long would you like to work (short term is okay):

When can you start:

Purpose of your trip:

Do you have any MEDICAL condition that would restrict your activity (explain):

Any Dietary Restrictions:

Any common foods you will not eat, list them:

Where are you now, at this moment:

Currently do you Rent/Own/Other:

How are you arriving (car/plane/bus/other):

What special skills / talents do you have - (please be specific without exaggeration):

Did you read our entire profile:

What else do you want to tell us:
* * * * * * * * *
Some of the recreational activities volunteers have done from our homestay: * SWIMMING * WALKING * HORSEBACK RIDING * MOTOCROSS RALLY * RIFLE TARGET SHOOTING * RUNNING * KAYAKING * FISHING * MUSICAL JAM SESSION*NASHVILLE * MEMPHIS * KNOXVILLE * ATLANTA * TOWN SQUARE MUSIC * SEMI PRO BASEBALL * PRO HOCKEY * GRAND OL OPRY * MUSEUMS * ELVIS GRACELAND * COUNTRY WESTERN CONCERTS * ART OPENINGS*** some are seasonal, some require overnight travel, some are when available.

Note regarding gifts, please it is not necessary HOWEVER anything HOMEMADE that is special we would love to try. Please no Fois Gras. Please do not buy anything, homemade goodies only.

Excellent
(Excellent)
for Learn English and Volunteer in Tennesse (on the Tennessee River), USA
[20/09/2016]

I stayed with Tom and Joan for about 6 weeks. I really enjoyed it. They are very nice and forthcoming. I liked having talks with Tom as he is a interesting man, who comes up with a lot of ideas he wants to do. I think he is inspiring. All in all it was a great experience for me.

reviews (13)
Helper: Adrien RICHARD Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 25, 2015
Tom and Joan are very nice and was very helpful with me. We talk a lot and t... view complete review

Helper: Levy and Barbe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 9, 2015
2 disappointed French guys in Tennessee: We don't recommend tom Felice as an... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Yunshu Li Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: August 29, 2015
It's my first HelpX experience and it's AWESOME. During the three weeks, my w... view complete review

Helper: Romain BESOMBES Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 1, 2014
I do NOT recommend this place if your main goal is to improve your English ! ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Guillaume SARESANI Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 29, 2014
I spent almost 3 weeks at Tom and Joan’s house this summer. It was a great ex... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Nathan Goff Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 4, 2013
I volunteered at Tom and Joan's beautiful and ever-improving house for 5 week... view complete review

Helper: Xiangxiang Gong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: January 10, 2013
I like here very much.Here's scenery is very beautife. Tom and Joan are very ... view complete review

Helper: Eliott Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 20, 2012
I am a French student of 18 years. I spent the summer at Tom and Joan. It was... view complete review

Helper: Junki Morita Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: January 11, 2012
I experienced many kind of things here and also spent big holidays with them.... view complete review

Helper: Mathieu BOUCHOT Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 31, 2011
I just go home after spending six weeks at Tom and Joan. It was my first time... view complete review

Helper: Kris van Haren Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: September 30, 2010
I had a wonderful experience staying and working with Tom and Joan. Firstly,... view complete review

Helper: Robert Goetter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 16, 2010
Great place to stay/work, did something different every day. Every meal was h... view complete review

Helper: Jack and Emily Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 14, 2010
we are currently staying here and we have a few weeks left. the work is very ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use