help exchange   Host 6605
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pierrefaites, east France
All Year: Spring to Fall
Area (ha): 14
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 6605
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 13, 2019

We are Sarah and Dominique, living in the middle of nowhere in a 1830 build mill.

Dominique is building a therapy farm, while Sarah is teaching in a school for sustainable agriculture and taking care of the housekeeping, including the gardening and taking care of the animals. We both take care of the horses and work on our various construction projects.

We just recently bought a long time abandoned, overgrown farm in a forgotten valley, and try to bring it back to life.

Until then, we continue to take care of our 7 horses and of the rest of our animals (cat and a dog, chicken, geese, 30 lorraine goats and a small flock of sheep are helping us with the clearing of the brush on the new farm.. ).

We are looking for some help, of course, but we are also fond of the cultural exchange that HelpX provides. We loved hosting our first Helpxers, who permitted us to discover other countries, cultures, manners and habits. Long, sometimes late-night discussions often finish our work days, not speaking of week-ends, where we have more time to share. We fully integrate our helpXers in our daily life, means you can fully immerse ourselves in the french "art de vivre".


We are non-smokers and would prefer only hosting non smokers too.

While Sarah speaks fluently german (she's born in Freiburg, Germany) and quite well english, Dominique speaks only french!

Duties/various tasks, depending on the season: helping in the vegetable garden, taking care of the animals, preserving and canning fruits and vegetables, improving the housings of the animals, sometimes helping with construction, and housekeeping!

Schedule:

We expect approximately 25 hours work per week, from Monday to Friday. Sunday is an off-day.

Experience is not generally needed for the work, we will teach you what you need to know, and we will be around most of the time. We expect though that our helpers are committed to their work, and that they "see" what needs to be done.

Our place may not be the best choice for people dealing with another occupation while helpXing (online paid work, studies...). We got the feeling that the exchange always suffers in a way or an other from this other "duty".

People with physical issues (asthma, heartp roblems...) may please tell us in advance, so that we can schedule their stay in accordance to their physical capacities.

The meals will be provided, mostly with vegetables from our garden and dairy-goats and the rest of local producers. We don't eat much meat. Sometimes, I will ask for help preparing them, and some for cleaning the table.

We also have a Wifi or CPL-Internet access inside the house.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use