help exchange   Host 6831
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kaeo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6831
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2019

We're a family of four living on a beautiful property with stunning views overlooking Whangaroa Harbour in the Far North of New Zealand. We have a small and simple off-grid set up, and live surrounded by native bush.

We are building an earth and straw bale roundhouse this year, so have plenty of work that needs to be done! It will be made from mainly natural, local materials as well as salvaged and recycled items. As of November 2019 we have completed the basic frame and reciprocal roof for the roundhouse, and we now need help in the next stage of the build. This is a great opportunity for anyone wishing to learn about natural building!

In return for 4 hours work per person per day, we'll provide a room with FANTASTIC views, along with 3 meals a day of great home cooked vegetarian food, including fresh organic eggs from our own chickens and veggies from the garden. You're welcome to cook your own non-veggie food in our kitchen if you wish. We also have Wifi.

If you stay with us for a week or more, we offer one full day off per week.

We have an outside composting toilet and an outside shower, and meals will be with us in our timber cabin. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful and secluded spot, and our place will suit people wanting to be close to nature.

The Whangaroa area has many beautiful beaches and stunning bush walks to explore, just a short drive away. And we're only 35 minutes from Kerikeri if you wish to explore the Bay of Islands. Or head north from us to visit Cape Reinga and the Te Pake sand dunes.

We are Jon and Viki, both 40, and we have two homeschooled children - Abby, 13 and Quinn, 11. We also have 2 cats, a dog and chooks for further company! Jon is a qualified homeopath and enjoys playing the guitar and piano. Viki enjoys sewing, macrame, flax waving and other crafts. We both have a keen interest in permaculture and organic gardening, and enjoy sharing our skills and experience with visitors.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use