help exchange   Host 7167
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Harcourt North
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11 hectares
Persons: 1-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7167
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 4, 2019

Currently looking for keen and energetic people who can join us in making our piece of Paradise even better. We're looking for people who can start from now onwards.

Projects for this Spring & Summer include renovating our timber veranda, building some wicking beds for the vegetable garden, getting bird nets ready for the fruit orchard and building a fancy-fairytale chook (chicken) shed that would fascinate kids.

There may also be other work:
getting our berry patch ready, composting, mulching, chainsawing of storm fallen trees & limbs, weed & grass control, mowing, pruning, planting seedlings, fixing garden beds and irrigation systems, netting of fruit trees, net repair, tidying up the property, firewood, cooking.

Our house is on top of a ridgeline in rolling granite hill country with great views. Our western red cedar home has a wide veranda on 3 sides; we eat many of our meals outside here absorbing the scenery or occasionally just relax with a book in the hammocks.
There are plenty of kangaroos, echidnas and much birdlife.
We live in the country side (no shops) on a quiet road; very peaceful. The nearest major towns are Bendigo (25km) or Castlemaine (20km).
We have a spare room (double bed) with desk. We also have another spare room with a bunk bed & desk and also plenty of room if you wish to camp outside in a tent. You will have your own & very new bathroom.
If you wish to use the internet you will need to bring your own wireless dongle or use your mobile phone data allowance. Optus or Telstra work fine here.
English or German are the household languages.

We request that you be healthy-lifestyle oriented (eg non-smokers) and comfortable with being quiet of an evening (after 10.00pm'ish)
We run an organic/permaculture property and have a mostly vegetarian diet, but meat eaters and vegans also very welcome. We love people to cook meals to share. All meals provided.
If you want to learn about or practice organic gardening, growing fruit trees, running a property or trying to live sustainably, while at the same time having a bit of a laugh, then come and join us.

There is always plenty of work to do on the property which we hope you are eager to participate in. There is lightweight work: mowing lawns (ride-on mower - to reduce bushfire risk), trimming of vegetation (to use whipper snipper & shredding machine to convert to compost), compost making, painting, gardening, mulching, food preserving.

We have several producing vege garden beds (seasonal), a 50+ fruit and nut tree orchard and some berry patches & grape vines. For most of the year we can collect garden produce for our midday or evening meal. You will be encouraged to share in meal preparation and other household tasks.
Recreationally we have wonderful walks or 2 bikes you can use. There is some great cycle touring to be done. After a hard days summer work we often go for a swim in our dam or canoeing/kayaking/swimming in a local lake.
We also have plenty of books to read; natural health and healing, fruit and vegetable gardening, Australian nature, outdoor adventure activities, landscape architecture....
Karoline works in Bendigo (3rd largest city in Victoria) most days, so can take you in and bring you back at days end. Visit http://www.bendigotourism.com/pages/welcome-to-bendigo/ for details of our wonderful city.

For three quarters of the year we often have evening meals out on the veranda, and sometimes go to nearby hilltops for delightful sunset picnics.
Work hours are 4-5hrs/day, with Sundays off if you’ve been here a week.
We want you to be able to help us with all our farm/home tasks and discover the joy of working together as we move towards a more simple & sustainable lifestyle. We also want to see that you have an enjoyable time, chock full of wonderful memories. We want you to become 'family members' in the widest sense & share in your journey of exploration & discovery of self.

We live 1.5hrs north of Melbourne. We are easy to access by rail or by car (use the Calder Freeway). There is a bus from Melbourne airport that goes through Harcourt to Bendigo.
We can collect you from either Castlemaine or Bendigo rail stations on arrival or at the Harcourt airport bus drop off.

Email us to book in.


We prefer to have bookings of pairs (a double bed in one room, and a bunk for two people in the other guest room), but, ...... we also take single travellers.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use