help exchange   Host 7228
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

North Canterbury
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 25 acres
Persons: Couple or a single
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 7228
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 10, 2016

We have a lovely room available and we need a fit couple to help with a general property tidy up and some landscape gardening projects.

We have a 25 acre lifestyle block in a gorgeous area in North Canterbury called Pyramid Valley. We are a husband and wife with a 6 year old son. We have 3 large friendly dogs (2 x curly coat retrievers and 1 x black and tan coonhound) and a cat. We mainly graze sheep. Helpers must like dogs.

Our home is a 3 bedroom homestead with an external sleepout plus a pool.

The property has 3 acres of old established gardens and the rest of the property is the original homestead with cattle yards, sheep yards, woolshed and maintenance sheds, ponds, paddocks etc.

We offer 4 hours "work" per day in exchange for accommodation (a double bed) and meals. Helpers must also be prepared to pitch in and help at meal times - setting the table, doing the dishes and emptying the dish washer.

We are a relaxed early 50's (but young at heart!!) couple. Chris is an Artisan Master Butcher. We process lamb and pork into small goods and also provide local restaurants with lamb. Jackie is an executive producer in the advertising industry specialising in brand ads and is also involved with marketing property developments.

We enjoy good fun and intelligent conversation, wine & food. Interests include: Music (Chris is a drummer), surfing, cycling, skiing, books, films, cooking, fishing, gardening, art, new technology, travel & animals.

There is plenty to do locally (within 1 hr drive if you have a car) - beaches, rivers, lakes, surfing, fishing (salmon, trout and sea), skiing, rabbit/magpie shooting, walks, vineyards (wine tasting), art galleries, horse riding & treks, Hanmer Hot Springs, wonderful cycling area, kayaking, great cafes and restaurants and fabulous shopping only 1 hr away in Christchurch! A car is necessary to access everything on offer.

We are interested in helpers over 24 years of age that can speak English, and we are also happy to have mature couples.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use